Is it really necessary to wait for a child's 1 year to travel?

in #kids7 years ago

2017, New Year, new resolutions (or not). I'm coming back to write articles for the Little Globetrotters! Since we arrived in Arabia in August 2015, I have not had a minute to myself. Obviously, I was so afraid of getting bored when I stopped working. At first, I created a business with two partners before leaving Singapore. I managed the renovation of our house in Brittany at the same time as I started a BTS Tourism via CNED before launching my brand of sewing accessories (Rain de Reves) and courses last October. It was a hyperactive time. In short, I intend to clear at least one day a week to take care of you! Especially since I have lots of destinations in stock that I need to tell you about. Barcelona and Jordan among others.

Quit blabla, let's get to our sheep: do we really have to wait until a child is 1 year old to travel? It seems that in the collective imagination, we have to wait. But why is that? Of course, at the Little Globetrotters, we don't think we should wait and I'll explain why.

A baby under 1-year-old sleeps a lot!

Yes, and you have to take advantage of it. A tiny little one sleeps more and you can take advantage of his naps to go on the road, catch a plane or visit a museum (sitting in the stroller). We did some great road trips in Australia (and elsewhere) when our kids were under 1 year old and it went really well. Of course, we will take care to respect the child's rhythm so that we do not have tears due to fatigue

A baby under 1-year-old is light!

And so easy to wear to go on the Chinese wall or take a long hike. Of course, you have to think about the child's comfort, but in a baby carrier like Ergobaby or dorsal (choosing the right carrier for traveling) you won't have any problem when taking turns.
From the age of 18 months, it becomes more complicated (but not impossible for the strong ones. My husband took the boys on a trip up to 4 years old because not only does the child weigh heavier but he doesn't necessarily want to stay in a baby carrier for a long time.

A baby under 6 months old (or 4) drinks milk!

There's no need to break your head to find small pots on the spot or a restaurant where food will suit your offspring. One less worry to deal with.

A baby under one year old (even two years old) is almost free on a plane.

By train too. It would still be a shame to lose a whole year of free airline tickets. Well, I'm not saying anything, am I?

A child who is accustomed to traveling early will travel more easily

I am often amazed by my little globetrotters on the road. They take the plane like others take the car and know very well that they should not cry, not move too much during the flight. From the very beginning, they integrated this into their way of working. They are passionate about travel and at 5 and 8 years of age, they begin to participate in the decision-making process for the next destination!

Counter-arguments?

I see you coming, you're going to tell me:

What about vaccines? I answer you, no need to go deep into Africa or Asia.
Too much to carry! Travel light with a baby / Checklist suitcase
Hourly shift as he begins to make his nights -> Choose a destination near you.
Trusted hospital nearby -> choose your destination carefully
If you are still hesitating, don't hesitate to start a test weekend a few hours away by car.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66050.37
ETH 2629.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68