Childfree Life

in #kids7 years ago

So This is my first post. I welcome you to my blog. Over here I want to discuss topics that are close to me and I find interesting.
This post is going to be about childfree living. Because this is something I have been thinking about a lot.

When I was a teenager, I never really wanted kids. I never liked kids or babies and did cenrtainly never see myself in a parenting position. As I got older, in my twenties I kind of fell for the propaganda. Getting married and having kids started to be something to look forward to. Something that was expected of me and something we 'should' do.
At that point I still didn't like kids. But it became something that I could work towards and not think about my life at the time. The fact that I was with an abusive man had lot's to do with this.

Then what happened that brought me to this point where I do no longer think I want kids. To be honest I don't think I ever wanted kids. I did develop a deep desire to be with someone , to marry someone that wanted it all with me. In my head that would mean, sharing a house, a life & children. But I also realise, that I was mostly craving a loving relationship with someone that respected me and saw me as more than a fuck buddy.

I never had thought about the fact that I could have all of this but then without the kids. It was not something others around me spoke about. In fact I never heard anyone say something like that.

Fast forward a couple of years and the internet became a reality. I had access to a lot more information now but still was locked in the we must get married and have a family syndrome. At that time with a new partner, but now more because of emotional reasons. I wanted to make my mother happy. I didn't realise I was trying to make her happy all the time. As a matter of fact many things I did were to make her proud. And I knew she wanted grandchildren.

Seeing this patern, was already an eyeopener. But then I went vegan. And got to learn about , well about the fact that this world is not such a pretty place. I found other vegans online and many of them talked about vacectomies and childfree life. It was only then that I started to make the connection. Learning about what I really want. I still took me a lot of time and mistakes before I was able to be honest to myself.

It still is sometimes strange to think about the fact that Im going to remain chilfree. As most people around me start to breed in their twenties. Im grateful to have the freedom. And I want to share that freedom with a partner that has a vacectomy. That's all I want. And that's what I need. I dont have the need to hold a baby, to raise it for all those years, to live for one thing. I rather care for an animal in need. And you know what, it's ok! You don't need to feel ashamed. You have the right to say no. You can still have a bright future without a family. It's alright. download (1).jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58