When amazing kids amaze even yourself...

in #kids6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8214.JPGI never thought I'd have kids, infant I never wanted kids and I've never been one to be shy of telling people that.

So imagine my amazement when I had kids, and as the guy grew up and got older, the things they did, and the way they embraced life completely amazed me.

Over and over again.

I've now been through enough exam cycles to know what the pre-exam jitters does, that the level of angst is going to rise, and that the level of 'comfort' food needs to be exponentially increased during the exam writing period.

In fact a friend of mine says "BUY CHOCOLATE" - seems that's the solution in her home, and it works for her kids.
Unfortunately it's not as easy in mine because we are 'healthy eaters', and we try to not kill ourselves with sugar.

So.. I buy Brie cheese and crackers, smoked Salmon is a BIG thing in the house - which is great , cos it's definitely brain food.
We have fresh red and yellow peppers in the fridge cut up.
We have fresh fruit EVERYWHERE.

Every now and then I fill a bowl of blueberries and raspberries, knock on the door of the studying child, and deposit the bowl outside the door. After all, you DO NOT want to make the Wookie mad......

And then they write exams, and they EXCEL. Completely beyond my wildest imagination. I mean these kids got fantastic results. Far exceeding my expectations, but to be fair I has set impossible expectations for them, and they really did so well.

yes, I have set huge and high expectations for my kids, they know that a C is not an option. An A is expected, and I put pressure on them. And you know what?????

THEY ACHIVE A's.

Yes, that's right. My premise is that if you set HIGH expectations of your kids, and they respect you, and they see you are trying your best in life too, then they tend to ACHIEVE those high expectations.

Imagine that?

Imagine a society that says "Not everyone wins. Everyone wins if EVERYONE puts in hard work!"

So back to my kids - they get in the top 5% of results of students. They both are going to University. they both want to help save the world (one marine conservation, and one as a doctor).

As a single mum, I've had to be both Mum and Dad for many years. My wonderful (now0 husband has been a great example of what a mans could be, and what a proper Dad could be like, but their rock has been me. And if they did nothing after this, I'd be the proudest mum in the world.

Thanks Kids - you are both my hero's.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cooldnvp83! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83