The Art of Being Present

in #kids5 years ago

It's the holiday season, if you haven't noticed, and even though we live in the 'information age' people still insist that Christmas is the only holiday that matters. We're culturally Christian, celebrating Christmas and all but it kills me that our children are exposed to so little. It's just self centered and obnoxious. But I digress.

rotated.jpg

At our kids 'winter performance' where nearly every song was about Christmas (some of them were in Spanish and while my kids are bilingual, me? not so much) the thing that bothered me the most was how INSISTENT so many adults were about filming their kids. I get it, I really do. These videos and pictures are great to look back on and swoon over how adorable your kids were when they were little. However, you don't need the whole performance. You also don't need to stand DIRECTLY IN FRONT of other parents who are just trying to enjoy their kids.

MVIMG_20181221_091932.jpg

I got some good pictures, trust me. AND when my kids looked my way when they were singing, they saw my FACE, not my phone. Just sayin'.

IMG_20181221_080727.jpg


Happy Holidays, y'all. Hope all's well with you and yours.

besos

Just Beth.jpg

Sort:  

enjoy the moment. Memories in your mind live longer and are a secret kind of special to pull out when in need. I'm Proud of you!!!

aw, thanks @snook!! that means a lot... and I agree... i feel like my kids will remember that i was there, smiling and crying and waving like a goon. the couple of pics i grabbed are no match for those memories.

love to you and yours!!

Ho Ho Ho! @bethalea, one of your Steem friend wished you a Merry Christmas and asked me to give you a new badge!

SteemitBoard wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To see who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67