Kidney Stones

in #kidneystones8 years ago (edited)

Hopefully none of you will ever need to know this, but I'm going to share my recent experience anyway.
Leaving a mid-day birthday party for my wife early in the evening a couple of weeks ago. I returned home feeling a little unwell. There was no pain but I felt tired and had a bit of an upset stomach. I laid down and took something to help me fall asleep. I awoke at around midnight with excruciating pain in my lower left abdomen. Not knowing what was happening, I started imagining all sorts of things. Such as, because I've had some issues with diverticulitis, a ruptured bowel. Or appendicitis. I was able, barely, to start up my computer to see if I could find out some information and discovered that it was not in the area for appendicitis. That was little comfort at the moment because I was pretty sure that I was dying.

My wife convinced me to go to the emergency room the next morning where a cat scan revealed a very tiny stone lodged in my ureter. Needless to say, this was a relief. The pain, which came in waves, was no less intense. But knowing what was causing it was comforting.
After a dose of morphine, some prescriptions and some advice to drink a lot of water, I was sent home. I filled the prescriptions for the pain medication, which turned out to be simply Ibuprofen, and the one for relaxing the prostate. But I didn't fill the one for antibiotics because I was told that I had no infection. But I did start drinking cranberry juice to avoid getting an infection.

That night was the worst. Again, around midnight the pain came on. It was the worst pain that I can remember ever experiencing. But again, knowing what was causing it made it much easier to deal with.
The stone passed a day later. Ironically, the stone was kidney shaped.

When the stone passed, I only noticed because I was told to try to save the stone for ID and was peeing into a big plastic cup. There was no pain during that last part.
I don't know if it's different for men and women. But one of the questions I asked and received no answer for was this; Do the tubes get bigger as they get nearer the exit? Is the pain worse as the stone travels between the kidney and the bladder or between the bladder and the exit? No one could tell me.
My experience is that indeed the pain is much worse as the stone travels down the ureter to the bladder. I have no idea if others have had the same experience.

I have since been to see a urologist and the stone is being analyzed to determine what it consists of. Evidently, there are numerous minerals which can form stones . Knowing this information may help me to figure out what caused the stone to form and what steps or changes I can make to prevent a recurrence. However, I believe that I already know what I did to cause this to happen. I simply did not drink enough water. For years, I have started my day with black coffee. A lot of it. And unless it was very hot and I was sweating a lot. I would just go from coffee to my evening beer without much else in between. Also, because of my age and the fact that I was getting up more often in the night to pee than I liked. I didn't drink much water in the evenings before bed. So I'm pretty sure that even though I've made some dietary changes in my life recently, the real or main cause of the stones was simply not drinking enough water. I'll know more when I see the Doc next month.

I read somewhere that one in eleven people will develop kidney stones and that once you have, the chances of developing more increases.

This post may not help anyone. But then again, perhaps it might. I wish I had been a little better informed about kidney stones before I experienced them first-hand.

At any rate. Drink water. Lots of it. You really don't ever want to get a kidney stone. But if you do, drink even more water. And don't worry, you aren't dying. You will just feel like you are.

Sort:  

A further note...Be careful of the water you drink. Water that has a high mineral content can contribute to kidney stones. Also, try to stay away from medications such as Pepcid, Zantac, etc. It has been found that they contribute to kidney problems, not only stones, but failure as well. Thank you for your post. When I passed my stone it felt like a cinder block, if that makes you feel any better.

Thanks, that's a good point. I only drink rainwater that has been filtered through a Berkey. But I know a lot of people don't really give their water much consideration.
As far as describing the pain. I really can't. I've read women who claim the pain is worse than childbirth. I do like your description.
But to be clear. Did you experience the worst pain as the stone traveled between the kidney and bladder, or as it traveled between the bladder and the exit? I suppose it's a silly question. But I was really interested in the answer while in the midst of this process and no one could tell me. I am now interested in whether my experience was unique or not.
I guess that's the main reason for the post. To learn more myself and to possibly bring some comfort to another who is experiencing it for the first time.

Not a silly question at all...but a very difficult one. It's kind of like, "would you rather get shot or run over by a car?" Neither option is very appealing. I would have to say between the bladder and exit. However, there may be other factors at play. I have an extremely enlarged prostate that may have added to the pain. I think it probably depends on the person and their individual physiology. I imagine it differs from person to person.

Hi @stevesmith. Since I was 10 years old I have had kidney stones. This is hereditary. I was the unfortunate one to receive this wonderful gift from both sides of the family. I currently have a stent in my kidney because of severe kidney damage due to kidney stones. Not a very entertaining experience. This is like the 37 th stent I have, and I have stopped counting. I have MANY "frequent flyer miles" at the Urology hospital...LOL! Nothing works for me. No diet, and not even water. I have regulated my stones a bit by drinking a little bit of lemon juice in the morning. Some more advice I can give you is to drink beer. Believe it or not...Beer. I hate beer, but it helps to rinse out the kidney, so if I feel a stone coming on, I go and buy some beer. Vodka also helps. I am fortunate that my urethra has been stretched a bit(actually quite a bit) so the kidney stone can pass easier. This is really not such a great experience and you are right if you say that you feel like dying...I have crawled around in the house on many occasions. Now I can laugh about it but I promise everyone out there, having a stone, is a pain that you can't describe to anyone.

Well, I love beer. So I guess that's a good thing.
I'm so sorry that you've had to deal with this your whole life. I can only now imagine what hell that must be. My deepest sympathy.

The weirdest is that you get used to pain. Thank you and I hope you never ever have to go through a kidney stone again. I have resteemed your post so hopefully you will get a bit more exposure. Keep on steeming!

I'm glad I read this because I too dont drink enough water, instead diuretic coffee...omg scared straight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81