I Don’t Like Kids. I Don’t Want Kids. What’s Wrong with Me?

in #kid7 years ago

Everyone I know goes bonkers when they see a kid under the age of, say, 6. “Oh, what a sweet-faced little angel!” they’ll say. All I see, meanwhile, is a snot-nosed germ factory and life/financial drain whose parents, in the prime of their lives, surrendered their freedom to raise.

I never say this out loud, of course. But sometimes my dislike of kids inevitably comes out, as when the unwanted questions about my own situation come along: “Any kids?” “Don’t you want to have children?” “When are you having kids?” Nope. I sure don’t. Never! People stare at me like I have three heads when I say I don’t like or want kids.

I’m getting to the age where most of my friends are having kids, and this makes me feel increasingly isolated. I can’t help that I don’t like kids (at least, I don’t think I can?), but I also sometimes find myself wondering if there’s something wrong with me for not liking/wanting children. Your thoughts on this would be welcomed. —No Kidding

Sort:  

I don't think their is anything wrong with you just because you don't like the idea of having children or children all together for that matter. Parenthood doesn't have to be for everyone.

Personally I like children but as of right now do not even entertain the thought of having children of my own.

Maybe my opinions will change overtime, but as for now I make a better Uncle than a Father, if you know what I mean.

I agree with buhl, above. There's nothing wrong with you, it really just isn't for everyone.

My wife and I talked about this before marrying and decided we would never have children. Too much time, money, worry, etc ... We are not willing to trade the freedom we have without kids for the joys (apparently having kids is joyful, lol) of having them.

I can't say that I don't like kids, though. Some of them can be bratty, others can be cute as hell, and surprise you with their insightfulness (I teach) .. But yeah, not for me, thanks =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43