Kicking up Steem part 2 (Nanzo's progress)

in #kicking-steem โ€ข 6 years ago

20180305_161140.jpg

(Just a lil more turn on that suport foot ๐Ÿ˜‰ yet amazing progress from his first kick! Not many people pick it up so fast)

Ok so last week my homeboy @nanzo-scoop got back on his game!

As he had said to me he would getting his work in with one of Steemits fitness kings

@ivargereiko

IMG_20180304_213456_334.jpg

Helping Nanzo to build a Nanzo-Scoop 2.0 for 2018

As we know though when you looking hot like Milo you need be able to protect yourslef if needs be looool!

So he's swapped just straight boxing for kickboxing!

And here is how things are going so far from a coaches point of view!

I can honestly so I am and have been impressed by his work rate, determination and how quick he goes from not having much clue to convincing me he can move on to the next move!

This week I really pushed his kicks!
Mainly focusing on the round kicks!

In most martial arts these are your bread and butter kicks! Probably used as much as the jab cross and can really push your cardio if you drill them right!

The session mostly consisted of bag work where I got him to learn how to relax but still get the power in his kicks and at the same time making sure the grounded foot hits the turn!
This is a common error when kicking at the start of learning to kickbox! It is not a natural movement for most so can be hard to get right, right away!

20180305_161141.jpg

(You can see him here taking his time and focusing on turning that grounded foot! This is what I love about teaching him! He just takes it one kick at a time not afraid to get it wrong)

There are different methods for different people but I tend to find that letting people go with how they think it should be at a slower pace as so not to injure themselves and the slowly tweek it as they go!

For me it is important for them to feel the correct way as they go! Just like with punching you will feel when it is right when you have not intented to put too much power in and your body is relaxed but you really move the bag or the pads or someones head pops off ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚

We went through the basic round off the front leg, then the back!

I had him then front round, round off the back leg jump switching (which requires loose hips)

20180305_161902.jpg

And then we added some hands to the combo with just a basic jab cross followed by a back round, front round combo!

I always show first then see how he interprets my movment then tweek him!

The main problem now he is kicking and punching is knowing where to put his hands when he kicks!

He is slowing getting it with my gentle reminders ๐Ÿ˜‰
And I am super impressed with how much he picked up in just an hrs session ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿฝ

I gave him a few drills to practice for his side kicks as we will be working on these for the next session (better do ya home work ๐Ÿ˜‰)

20180305_155525.jpg

As I have mentioned before I don't really teach Kickboxing (let alone PTs) any more but am happy to do it for Nanzo as we have built up a good friendship over the last couple years!

It feels good to pass the knowledge on and also help such a positive person on his way to hitting some goals ๐Ÿ˜Š

It is also great to be trading lessions for Steem trying to up date my skills on this Crypto journey.

Very much so looking forward to running him through the next set of kicks whilst seeing how much he has retained from this week๐Ÿ˜Ž

I'll keep you posted on his progress every now and again and really think I'll have him doing some kicks he probably does not think he can do ๐Ÿ˜‰...yet ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ™„

No pressure Nanzo ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜“๐Ÿ˜ฅ๐Ÿ˜œ

Sort: ย 

Soon enough we will see @nanzo-scoop on TV

Nanzo looks like he's ready to kick some serious ass!

Great post! Now i will be following your posts, I had been introduced to you by @ingaaa through my posts of choosing 100 best authors on steemit.

Nice one @bornprince ๐Ÿ˜Š and big thank you @ingaaa you do like my jokes ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Like is a strong word....hahaha ๐Ÿ˜

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚

Always welcome @colossus39!

Wow!.. this is big progress, you are the best bro. I can't wait to see a Nanzo vs "some other" sparring session.

This is just a nice supplement to his other training ๐Ÿ˜‰ no sparring for now ๐Ÿ˜Š

Oh @nanzo-scoop is a good trainer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45