My second fight ever

in #kickboxing7 years ago

So a long time ago I wrote about my first fight ever; it was an awesome experience and reliving it was great. Today, I relive a less great, but incredibly important incident: my second fight ever.

It might seem like an obvious piece to write, as it's sequential, however there's a couple of things motivating me to write about this that aren't so obvious, which I'll highlight as they appear.

My second fight was against a guy who I'll call Ron; he was my original instructors son, so fighting him meant I had to find a new coach for the time being. I settled for a guy we'll call Aaron Anderson; Anderson was my instructors instructor, so I figured it wasn't a drop in quality, and I was right.

The problem is, however, that even though AA was just as competent as Mr. H, Mr. H had soooo much information about me to give to his son. Combine that with the fact that Ron was just this big tough dude with crazy cardio, and you have a very dangerous opponent for me. My game plan was flawed- I decided I'd try the same approach I took with my first fight (wear down the thighs and possibly stomach, swarm in for the kill around the 4th or 5th round), and while this worked against the mirror match that was fight 1, it wasnt effective for fight 2. Ron was just too tough and too fast, that wasn't the kind of strategy I could have employed successfully against him.

I ended up losing the fight in the first round at around 47 seconds. He swarmed me and caught me on the jaw with a hook, and I was out. I actually got a concussion from it, and when I came to I thought it was the night of the first fight, which made me sad bc I thought I had lost my first fight. This cycle repeated for a couple of hours; concussions are dangerous.

There's not much more data about the actual fight I can give bc it was fast and simple, but I can offer this: I think I could have won that fight, but I needed a different approach. I was caught with that hook while trying to thigh kick him, and if I had focused more on dirty boxing and evasive movements I think I could have won. Coulda shoulda woulda though~

I've been thinking about this fight alot lately, bc it was almost ten years ago. Given that I got a concussion, this is an important period in my life, bc if brain damage is gonna show up, itll do it within the next year or so. I'm a bit concerned, but realistically I doubt it will happen.

Anyway, just wanted to write this really fast, been a while since I've posted. Next post will be alot longer and more interesting.

WIN_20170522_00_39_03_Pro.jpg

i look ridiculous

Sort:  

interesting post, I hope you had a teeth protection.( dont know the English word for it)

mouth-guard, and yeah~

Congratulations @ooxide! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91