Blood Ketones Before and After Caprylic Acid (C8 Oil) - Self-Experimentation

in #ketogenic7 years ago

I've done blood ketone experiments with coconut oil and with MCT oil and I didn't see too much of a significant change in the levels of beta-hydroxybutyrate pre and post ingestion of the substance.

This time I decide to experiment with caprylic acid oil or C8 oil.

Let me break it down for you to better understand the context. Coconut oil contains triglycerides of different carbon chain lengths and it may slightly increase blood ketones because when these triglycerides reach the liver, some of them are processed and transformed into ketones. The most rapidly converted to ketones are the medium chain triglycerides.

Which brings us to MCTs. So, MCT oil is a refined oil that only contains triglycerides of medium chain carbon length. So it contains triglycerides of carbon 6 (C6), C8, C10, and C12. Out of these, the most ketogenic is C8.

And of course, this brings us to C8 oil, which is pure caprylic acid and is thought to increase blood ketones the most. The C8 oil that I got was about 30 euros per liter and I purchased it from amazon. I tested with 15ml. See my self-experiment in the video below.

To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Despite the fact I'm not a good connoisseur at this subject, I'm fascinated by it. I only know that this caprylic acid improves the immune system. Thank for sharing with us this experiment!

i work as a nurse bro appreciate the info :> si multumesc cristi pentru upvotes

a very satisfying post

C8 oil extremely effective for me as well. The pee sticks are always dark purple after i take some w/ butter. Be sure to take w/ another digestible fat like butter so does not upset your tummy. I make bullet proof coffee. Here is oil I use. http://amzn.to/2Di9eiD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50