STARTING DR. MERCOLAS MMT DIET (KETOGENIC DIET)

in #ketodiet7 years ago

My story starts 7 years ago, when I moved to the US from Mexico, I was 25, 5'6 and 145lbs.

DSC03744.JPG

Not my ideal weigh, but significantly lower than now. slowly but surely, my weight started trending upwards, food portions are bigger, food is highly modified and junk food is incredibly easily accessible.
That led me down a path of researching why eating similar foods in the US to my home country was causing such a drastic change in my appearance.
but to my dismay, no matter what fad diet or exercise program I implemented, no significant or long lasting changes have occurred. I am now 31 and weigh 182lbs!
kk.jpg

Research has finally lead me down the path of using "Fat for Fuel", embarking on this Ketogenic approach to healthy eating, there are a lot of books and websites out there on how to accomplish this, but I am starting, officially with Dr. Mercolas plan, skipping of course the glucose monitoring and blood tests since he recommends this extreme monitoring to people that face significant health issues like cancer or type 2 diabetes.

The book was a great source of reference to the amount of protein, carb and fats to be eaten according to your lean mass and which macronutrient sources are best. since other websites rely heavily on dairy and pork fat indiscrinminantly, I'm trying his approach on well sourced, grass fed, pasture raised, non-chemichal laden and organic options.
So that made more sence to me, if taking on a high fat diet, to get better sources of fat as in, whole olives, avocados, wild salmon, olive oil, pecans and macadamias which have lower protein content than almonds, etc. and organic, grass fed meats and fats.

So I am inviting you to come on this journey with me and see real time results and struggles as I go through them.
I will be updating this blog weekly with weigh ins, measurements, recipes and how to deal with social outings trying to stay within the healthy high-fat, moderate protein and low carb plan.

As with many things, I feel like I have done sufficient research to deal with the weight issue, but it is time to put my money where my mouth is and lead by example.

Day 1:
Weight: 83kg - 182.7lb
Waist: 35.4 inches
Ketones: 0.00

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76