You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keto: Trendy Instagram Hype Or Serious Nutritional Concept? Sharing My Unpopluar Opinion

in #keto6 years ago

There's a website called masteringdiabetes.org that has a fantastic article debunking the keto diet with scientific facts. I don't know if you came across it in your research, but I have found it a great resource when people ask why I would never recommend it (even vegan keto) or try it myself. Nice to see an article like this when, like you said, everyone seems to be jumping on the bandwagon.

Sort:  

Oh I love that article on masteringdiabetes.org, thanks a lot for directing my attention to it! In fact I hadn't found it earlier during my research.

My favourite part: "Ketosis Misconception #4: Carbohydrate is Not an Essential Nutrient".
How often have I tried to explain that to people, but they just don't wanna listen :-)

Whenever you tell someone that you just had some pasta for lunch, they're like: Wuuuuuut, the evil carbs? And I am like: Did you ever do sports in your life? Then you'd know that without carbs, you're actually nothing :-)

Thanks for stopping by and helping to spread a more rational view on such diets.

Happy to share! I always like refreshing my brain with actual science. ;)

I actually had a client years ago shocked when I was talking about eating a baked potato. Topped with black beans, salsa and avocado--not a bunch of butter, cheese and bacon. Life isn't worth living without spuds!

I'm trying to catch some of the presenters during the Plant Fit Summit right now, too. Lots of world class athletes carbing the heck up! 💪

I'm very glad to see you opinion on this. I have a great respect for you because I've seen your recipes and like your way of thinking. I don't like this keto madness either.

Thanks so much for that @erikah! I think everyone needs to do their research and find what works for them, but in all the research I've done this type of diet is not the best for overall health and longevity. It may be appropriate in certain special cases, but most of the people I've seen jumping on the bandwagon are just looking to lose weight quickly. I try not to judge others unless someone is asking for my opinion, but that doesn't mean I'm not going to advocate for a balanced whole food approach that I have come to believe is the best lifestyle to follow! I love all fruits and veggies and beans and grains, so I'm quite happy sticking with my varied and colorful plate! 😉

I'm with you on that! Amin! My friend I was taking about in my comment to the author, he's reason for choosing this diet was he can lose weight without starvation. I think many people are not willing to give up sweets and fatty food. If you want to lose wait, you have to make some changes.

Kind of ironically, one of the comments I see most on a lot of the plant-based groups is that people have a hard time eating enough to not lose weight! I think that's one of the things I love about it--I get to eat a ton of food because I choose very nutrient-dense foods that tend to be lower in calories naturally or they just get broken down into energy better and faster. I eat more than just about any other woman I know and maintain my body weight much easier. I have a feeling I will have an easier time as I get older, as well, because I try to keep a healthy relationship with food and don't live in fear of it.

That's a very healthy way of thinking. You should considering putting together a recipe book, don't you think?

My boyfriend keeps saying I should do a cookbook, so maybe some day. ;)

See? That proves I was right! Do an ebook, a downloadable one for a certain price! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70858.50
ETH 3796.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44