The Sourdough Experiments: Day 5 - Oh Crepe!

in #keto4 years ago

IMG_20200311_055137.jpg

It's getting closer and closer to having some viable sourdoughs, here. Time is running short to find Dutch Ovens [the real ones, not the bedroom prank] and Bannetons[aka "Proofing Baskets"]. I have some ideas where to obtain the former. None to get the latter. I might be making some sourdough muffin/buns as I begin. I dunno.

Anyway, today's experiment was all in seeing what would happen if I didn't add any flour at all. So here's what happened with that:

IMG_20200311_061317.jpg
Here is today's harvests with the ingredients I originally planned to add:

  • one large egg
  • one tsp [equivalent] of pure Stevia powder [the green sachets]
  • one tsp of xylitol [this proved to be a mistake, but not how you'd think]
  • one generous dollop of cream

[I had the coconut milk just in case. I didn't actually end up using it]

IMG_20200311_061838.jpg

I later added two to three pinches of psyllium husk because - surprising nobody - the resultant mixtures were sloppier than a soup sandwich.

"Pro" tip - some actual flour may be necessary for baking with sourdough harvests!

IMG_20200311_062322.jpg
The resulting mix was very, VERY thin. So thin that I couldn't use the top heating plate on the sandwich press.

IMG_20200311_062709.jpg
I could cook up to six little crepes on the hotplate or four big ones.

IMG_20200311_063845.jpg
The bread flour ones turned out nicely, no matter how thin they were.

IMG_20200311_065118.jpg
So, too, did the wholemeal ones.

IMG_20200311_070022.jpg
Not so much, the almond meal ones. They broke apart because they had the structural integrity of a political promise.

Results:

  • I think I put too much sweetener in there, maybe stick to one, or one and a half teaspoons (or equivalent) of your best sweetener
  • Miss T loved them anyway and declared them "for nomming" [she means at-compy snackabobs]
  • The almond meal cakelets had a kind of lemony flavour to them that might be the beginnings of almond meal sourdough personality

Extra things I have learned:

  • Stirring your starter really deflates that thing!
  • Almond meal and wholemeal starters are thirstier and require a third of a cup of water per half cup of "flour" just to get things mixed
  • Sourdoughs take up WAY more time than I would have believed.
  • Some form of flour is vital when using almond starter as structural integrity IS a problem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60335.73
ETH 3297.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43