Keto Friendly Chia Chocolate Pudding

in #keto6 years ago

Makes 4 servings

2 tbls chia seeds
2 tbls ground flax seeds
1 tbls unsweetened Cocoa powder
16 oz unsweetened coconut milk
2 oz unsweetened dried coconut flakes
Stevia to taste (I use 1 gram of bulk white pure Stevia)

Mix the coconut milk and unsweetened coconut together in a bowl. Let sit for an hour or so to allow the dried coconut to rehydrate.

Add the chia seeds, ground flax seeds and cocoa powder to the rehydrated coconut. Mix well and allow to sit for about an hour until the pudding has thickened. Add stevia or another non-nutritive sweetener and stir well. Enjoy!

Chia Seeds – Cal. 60, carbs 4, fiber 4, protein 2
Flax seeds – Cal. 75, carbs 4, fiber 3.8, protein 2.6
Unsweetened Cocoa – Cal. 12, carbs 3, fiber 1.7, protein 1
Coconut milk – Cal. 90, carbs 4, fiber 2, protein 0
Coconut flakes – Cal 410, carbs 15 fiber 7.4, protein 3.8

Totals – 647/4= 162
Carbs – 39/4 = 9.75
Fiber – 20.2/4 = 5.05
Net carbs – 19/4 = 4.75
Protein – 9.4/4 = 2.35

Sort:  

This looks tasty.

I have never tried stevia in recipes yet. I did try growing a stevia plant last year but it doesn't look like it has survived the winter unfortunately.

I had bought seeds and was trying to grow it when the accident happened. This is the first year I have been able to try to grow anything since then. This year I am sticking to the veggies I use the most, but next year I want to try growing it again.

I'm in zone 8a and even here, it needs to have the roots mulched over winter. If you live where the ground freezes solid, I have heard of people growing it in pots and bringing it inside over the winter. It might work for you.

I had the plant in the greenhouse. But we have had some severe frosts in the last few weeks.

That could do it. The weather has been strange this year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63260.19
ETH 3025.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50