Keto Biscuits and Gravy

in #keto6 years ago

One or the hardest things for me since starting the Keto diet was giving up biscuits and gravy. I’m a Southern girl and biscuits and gravy was the main-stay of our diet growing up. Breads of all types are a weakness for me. It is not just a carb thing because most of the time, I could care less about eating sweets, but breads are a different story.

Is it a Miracle Product?

Carbquik can be used much like any regular, high carb baking mix. There are recipes on the box for pizza dough, waffle mix, Chicken Parmesan, and Turkey Pot pie. Plus there are hundreds of others available online. I have not tried any of them, but I will in the very near future!

My Recipe for a single biscuit

The recipe on the box makes 10 biscuits, but it is just me and I prefer my biscuits fresh from the oven. I played around with the recipe and made my own to product a single biscuit with just 2 net carbs after the 14 grams of non-soluble fiber is deducted. The gravy (recipe below) has less than 1 carb, so I can have a biscuit and gravy for less than 3 carbs!

The mosty time consuming part is mixing the butter into the Carbquik. Soon as I have time, I plan on experimenting with making a larger batch (without cheese and heavy cream, then freezing it into 1/3 cup servings to save some time.

Ingredients:

• 1/3 cup Carbquik
• 1 tbls cold butter
• ¼ cup shredded cheese of your choice
• 2 tbls heavy cream
• Garlic salt to taste (can use regular salt if you don’t want garlic)

Directions:

• Add Carbquik to a mixing bowl
• Add cold butter
• Using a fork, mash the butter repeatedly to mix it into the powdered carbquik. When fully incorporated, it should look sort of like a coarsely ground meal.
• Add cheese and salt, stir well.
• Add heavy cream and mix until well incorporated.

You should now be able to pick up with mix and form into a biscuit shape. Place on a greased baking sheet. Cook at 450 degrees (f) for 8 to 10 minutes. The Biscuit should be nice and golden brown.

Allow it to cool while making the gravy. They fall apart easily when hot from the oven but can be cut after several minutes of cooling.

Gravy Ingredients

• 1 tbls butter
• 1 tbls Carbquik
• 1/3 cup heavy cream
• Salt and pepper to taste

Melt butter in a skillet. When melted add. Stir constantly until the Carbquik has liquified in the butter. The mixture will not brown as much as regular flour, but it can be slightly browned if you like. I grew up on white gravy so I immediately add the heave cream.

Once you’ve added the cream, stir constantly and ensure all the Carbquik/butter mixture is incorporated into the heavy cream. It will thicken a little faster than flour gravy, so make sure you stir constantly until it reaches your desired thickness.

Pour the gravy over your biscuit and ENJOY!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49