Keto Recipe: Homemade Low-Carb Tortillas

in #keto6 years ago

IMG-2064.JPG

Mexican Food is one of my favorite types of food to eat, but unfortunately it is not conducive to a ketogenic diet. No beans, no rice, no tortillas, no sopapillas!

If you are starting Keto and suffer from Mexican food withdrawals like me, I have found a great recipe for low-carb tortillas. The ingredients are a little different and the process might seem a little difficult at first, but I believe it is worth your time.

INGREDIENTS:
1 cup of coconut flour
3 tablespoons psyllium husk powder (or other high fiber powder)
¼ cup butter (can substitute with bacon grease)
¼ cup coconut oil
2 cups hot broth (can substitute w/ hot water)
1-2 teaspoons Spices (your choices). I recommend a combination of garlic powder, cumin, red chili powder, cayenne powder, dill, salt & pepper

IMG-2047.JPG

HARDWARE:
Overhead mixer (can mix by hand, but it takes a little work)
Parchment paper
Two flat cutting boards
Griddle or Frying Pan

Mix together the dry ingredients (Coconut flour, psyllium husk, spices). For spices, you can use the spices that you like, but don’t go overboard on salt! Add some chili powder or cayenne if you want a little kick in the tortillas. I used ½ teaspoon of garlic powder, ½ teaspoon of cayenne pepper, and ½ teaspoon of a dill spice mixture.

IMG-2048.JPG

Warm up the butter / bacon grease and coconut oil, then add to the dry ingredients. I used ¼ cup bacon grease with ¼ cup of coconut oil. I warmed these up in the microwave for 60 seconds. Mix these together until it looks crumbly. Below are pictures before and after mixed.

IMG-2050.JPG
IMG-2051.JPG

Now warm up the broth and add to the mixing bowl. Again, I just use the microwave to warm up 2 cups. I usually have extra chicken broth from cooking chicken on hand, but if you don’t have any (or have less than 2 cups) you can use water. This step seems silly because it looks like it will just make soup, but it does make the dough if you measured everything correctly.

IMG-2053.JPG

Once your dough is a consistency like the picture, then you are ready to shape into tortillas. Remove the dough material from the bowl and roll into a log shape. Cut the log shape into 8-10 nearly equal sizes. I don’t usually get them all equal sized, but close enough works for me.

IMG-2054.JPG
IMG-2055.JPG

Next, get two pieces of parchment paper ready. What you need to do is flatten one of the cut pieces. Make a “sandwich” in the following order: Cutting Board, Parchment paper, Cut Piece of Dough, Parchment Paper, another cutting board. Make sure the top cutting board is flat side down. Press down firmly (like a lot of your weight) on top of the second cutting board to flatten the dough into a circle.

IMG-2056.JPG

Ta-da! Now you have a circular tortilla shaped dough.

IMG-2057.JPG

Note: I usually press extra hard on the top-bottom-left-right sides of the cutting board to make it as flat as possible on each edge. Think North-South-East-West and press on those directions.

Now you need to remove from the parchment paper. Slowly peel the two parchment papers apart, the dough should stick to the bottom piece.

IMG-2058.JPG

Now for that hard part. Lift up the dough+paper together and turn upside-down and place your other hand on the dough. Slowly peel back the parchment paper while “catching” the rest of the flat dough in your hand. It isn’t super hard once you get the hang of it. If you mess up, you can always mush the dough back into a ball and re-flatten it.
Note: Sorry no picture, I ran out of hands on that step!

IMG-2059.JPG

Now it’s time to sear the tortilla. I use a griddler preheated to 400°F. You can use a hot pan (pre-warmed on medium) if you prefer. Be sure to use non-stick cooking spray or butter to remove the tortilla. Grill for 4.5 minutes per side, or until the tortilla looks nice and brown. Respray the non-stick cooking spray between tortillas.

IMG-2060.JPG

That’s it! Now you can enjoy some mexican style dishes without worrying about tortillas.

IMG-2066.JPG

Here is what I had: Chicken, lettuce, cheese homemade taco :)

I hope you all enjoy my recipes! Tomorrow I will be writing a post more general about the ketogenic diet as opposed to a new recipe. I plan on continuing to write more recipes. Like Resteem and Follow me if you like what you see!

Cheers, Chipper

Sort:  

Thank you for this recipe. It will be added to our Sotall directory in the next day or two! You'll get an upvote from the Sotall account when it is added.

I think I am going to play around with this one and turn it into a recipe that would only make like 2 at a time. I am a Fajita nut but haven't had any since I started the diet. I think that is about to change!

Thank you!

They look awesome! I am definitely going to try these. I found some almond flour tortilla shells and they were good but they were very costly. Thanks for sharing.

I am a Mexican, and I own actually a Mexican Restaurant here in Bangkok, called The Missing Burro.

What I do is simple, I ordered the meats, either the Carnitas, the Pastor, the Cochinita, the Barbacoa, and I eat all with lots of lime juice, coriander, Onion and Sauce. Then I stay at almost zero carbs while enjoying most of the delicious flavors of Mexican Food.

Tortillas are great, but can do without them most of the time!

Cheers!

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit post for the Homesteading/Survival communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95