It's All About the Mind Game

in #keto7 years ago

Most nights, about two or three hours after dinner, I get hungry. However, by that point, I'm usually winding down, ready to relax with a book or magazine and some tea. What to do? Enter the charcuterie plate.

The term "charcuterie" is French for prepared meats; in fact, there are whole shops dedicated just to that in France. French people will often still go from specialty shop to specialty shop in order to purchase food. Why am I telling you this?

As I said before, it's about the mind game. In the evenings when I'm hungry, I could just grab a low-carb bar or a Slim-Jim or something like that, but I don't. I make it more of an event, a ritual, complete with its own name: charcuterie.

What I do is prepare the portions ahead of time in compartmentalized containers, with each portion measured out precisely when I'm doing my semi-weekly meal prep--that way, I don't go over in my macros. It's a modular process, one in which I'll pre-measure a variety of treats, some of which I'll use one night, others the next. For example, I have the choice of pepperoni, salami (varying flavors), cheeses (again, varying), deviled eggs, leftover egg batter (for a veggie dip), pepper strips, tuna or chicken salad (by itself or in a lettuce wrap), mixed nuts (carefully measured), etc.

When I'm ready for a snack, all I have to do is open the fridge and shop at my local (literally, right?) charcuterie. Now, I can't honestly say that I go all Method acting and act like I'm talking to Bertrand, my local merchant, but I think that it's best I don't, given that I have no desire to be institutionalized.

However, I do gather up my plate, perhaps another cup of tea (jasmine? Earl Grey? Chamomile?) and then snuggle up in my recliner with a good book and a smug grin on my face.
Charcuterie Plate with Tuna Salad CROPPED.jpg

Sort:  

15208239568777716400129476784211.jpg

That looks good! Also eating cheese and sausage, didn't mean to eat the whole block in one sitting but it was really good, Swiss.

Lucky for me there is a store near me that has cheap European meats and cheese.

Thanks! Yes, variety is crucial to success; you never want to feel as though you're in a rut. I like Italian sausages, too. There's this variety called Columbus (or Columbo?) that I like to get when I'm feeling rich. Otherwise, any spicy or wine-cured salami--paired with a good cheese--will get me where I need to go. In this case, I had sharp cheddar and brie paired with spicy salami and pepperoni.

Meal prep is so key for keto diet, but what most people don't tell you before you start is that you need to prep your snacks too! It's too easy to grab carb loaded foods for a snack when you need it. Preparing these in advance is a great idea. I do the same thing, and I also prepare mixed nuts in decent portion sizes. I especially love macadamia nuts

Yeah, like anything, being prepared is what determines success; willpower is not tested if you know you've already taken care of any contingencies. Also, I can't stress enough how important variety is.

Thanks for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41