I lost 30 pounds in 2 months on the keto diet it was so effective I thought I was sick so I started eating junk food again just to gain weight.

in #keto8 years ago

I lost 30 pounds in 2 months on the keto diet it was so effective I thought I was sick so I started eating junk food again just to gain weight.
Here's a brief outline of what I did. I'm not an expert in Keto but I did a fair amount of research before I started. Basically Keto is restricting your sugar and carb intake but sugar is your enemy! Oh ya Omega 3's are your friend they fight inflammation I really went crazy with Omega 3.
The word ketogenic is made up of two words: keto- and -genic.
The prefix “keto-” is short for ketones.
The suffix “-genic” is the same as genesis, which refers to “the creation of something”
So the word ketogenic literally means the “creation of ketones.”
Ketones are created from the break down of fat for energy when the body doesn’t get enough carbs.
When the body is creating ketones, it is said to be in a state of ketosis where fat becomes the main source of fuel for energy rather than sugar (glycolysis).
Ketosis is achieved by practicing strict carbohydrate restriction consistently. The general limit is about 25-50grams of net carbs a day which is far lower than the typical 200-300grams most people ingest per day. (Net carbs are carbs minus fiber. More about that below.) Those carbs must be replaced with healthy fat sources. It takes a few days for ketosis to actually occur because you have a glycogen supply to get through initially, but one can reach ketosis faster if they exercise. This is discussed in greater detail in the sections below.

First the fun part either you throw out all your high sugar or carb foods ice cream, chocolate, rice etc... or you enjoy your last week of gluttony.
Hopefully you enjoy the following foods I'm not a picky eater but if you might have to find alternatives.
Omega 3 eggs. This is my staple I eat about 5 for breakfast fried in coconut oil with hot sauce. You can use heavy cream to make scrambled eggs.
Broccoli coleslaw with salmon more omega 3's . Put any salad dressing you want on it but the healthier the better.
Avocado's more Omega 3s I made Temaki which is like a sushi roll. Get some Nori(dry seaweed) fry some cauliflower you have to blend it first so its fine like rice. Some Salmon, avocado, soy sauce, sriracha and mayo and some wasabi.
For a snack I made like a macaroon. 1 cup organic flax seed crushed omega 3, 1 cup shredded coconut, about 5 tablespoons of coconut oil, some chocolate pieces not too much, vanilla extract and 2 tablespoons of swerve its a healthy sweetener.
Anything that asks for sugar put Swerve.
I would also make big batches of chili with very few beans. Beans are high in fibre so they fit into Keto but limited.
Also Blueberries generally frozen would be a snack.
Cauliflower is your friend there are a tonne of recipes for keto and cauliflower.
I would cheat maybe every 3 days but wouldn't go crazy just splurge on chips or pizza.
The first week is the hardest obviously just eat lots of meat and eggs to keep full.
By the 3rd week a weird thing will happen you get hungry like you use to. You'll be hungry but it will pass quickly if you keep busy this is when I really started dropping weight. They call it intermittent fasting and will reduce you caloric intake greatly. I'll try my best to answer questions good luck with keto.
Here is a good website for beginners

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05