KIRAC - Keeping It Real Art Critics - one of the things I love about the Netherlands

in #keeping6 years ago

For the record: I don't identify myself as purely Dutch. I was born and raised in Luxembourg, with Dutch parents. As a kid, I learned how the Netherlands are 'more open', 'more tolerant' as a society than most. And while that's probably true, I became very disappointment on how open and tolerant the people in this country really are. I've lived here for almost 15 years now, and still feel that way.

KIRAC is a YouTube series. They represent a Dutch quality that I did encounter here. Blunt and provocative directness. Pretentiousness with a cause.

Now, I can of course not claim that directness is a Dutch invention, nor do I want to, but the way it is done by KIRAC is very Dutch. Besides, the video is in Dutch. And a part of it was filmed at the Academy next to my house. So I can identify with it very much.

Art-lovers who feel that the world of art has been claimed by the buyers may, and will, find bittersweet revenge in this recent production. With a sublime conclusion.

Hope you'll enjoy it:

Sort:  

Ah Gilles. Great text and point. Thank you for the video. I will l watch it and watch it. This gay is brilliant, Kate is inspiring, (like a representative for hope),humor is hilarious, the point is sad truth, but still said in the brilliantly funny way so it can be digested:
"..to be evil because you do not understand that other people are not as intelligent as you"
"...how stupid people interpret intelligent things..."
"...to live in the harmonious world where they can be respectful and stupid."
"Finding various possibilities of meaning instead of fixing them and narrowing down." Wow!
The whole thing with boards and jury and these things. Wow! What to say.?Resteemed.

Haha, yes, I agree.

A great critique on the zeitgeist and its defending institutions.

One thing I heard in a discussion on this video later, is that what this board is doing, is 'damage control'. The reason is that in recent decades, such boards are no longer occupied by art experts, but by experts in how to run organisations or multinationals. So the emphasis has become the reputation of the insitution, instead of the guidance of their students.

"So the emphasis has become the reputation of the insitution, instead of the guidance of their students." More and more becoming a standard. :(

Yes. That's a problem.

If only some conversations in real life could be filmed and split up like this, explained and clarified, piece by piece...
In a way, this is quite one-sided, because the clarifications are always done by KIRAC only, which is designed to lead one towards a better understanding of only their point of view, even if one didn't have it to begin with.

"Pretentiousness with a cause.".... Love that... and yes, it is! And yet, while I completely emphatize with their "cause", and agree with the point they are trying to make, there is another part of me, simply due to the one-sidedness of the presentation.

And also due to the manipulative aspects, which shouldn't be necessary. If someone has a good argument, there is no need to undermine any of "the players". The whole thing regarding Netflix only served to create a prejudice towards the character of one of the players, Annelies van Eenennaam, and that is manipulative and cheap.
Good argumentation doesn't need that...
Shouldn't that eloquence/intelligence he stressed a couple of times be enough to make their case and prove their point?

But then again, this is how ideas of viewpoints are mostly presented, so this is no different and probably shouldn't bother.

I find it particularly important to pay attention to such things whenever we are in agreement with the presented idea.

Hi!

Your response raises this question to me: "Do points of view always have to be presented in a balanced way?" And which balance should it reflect? An interesting example where this isn't the case, is the climate 'debate' in the US. Tv-shows have long presented one climate change sceptic, opposed to one climate change scientist.

But I agree on your point of view. These guys, also in their other videos, use this approach very often. If feels to me a little bit like watching Joffrey Lannister suffocate. I know it's wrong, but still I thoroughly enjoy it.

And let's face it: in real life, the power is entirely on the side of those guys they're taking down here. Those who defend the system.

Finally, in my view, they completely admit all of this in the final sentence of the video.

But they do deny that this is not about their YouTube views, even if they've clearly jumped on a hot topic here. I would appreciate it if they'd just admit that as well.

And was the framing of the lady as a Netflix watcher necessary? I don't think so. But I don't think that they assume somebody will take that very seriously.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87