The Puppeteer (Poem for the Keangaroo Writing Prompt contest)

in #keangaroo6 years ago (edited)

The Puppeteer

Her tongue slithers like a serpent,
she hisses lies in your ears,
lies that slowly pile
until their chaos
annihilates inner peace.

Streams of tears
slide off her soft face,
acting as the victim
while your heart
is the one that aches.

Bloodied robes float from her shoulders,
malicious laughs hidden
beneath painful squeals.

The insanity bulges out of her eyes
piercing your unwoven soul
like a needle in a cloth,
stitching your mouth shut,
strings hanging loose.

That is how she liked it,
a world she could make her own
by playing puppets;
and you were the star of the show.


Courtesy of Pixabay

This poem is an entry to "She liked it" - Keangaroo Writing Contest Prompt, as part of @isleofwrite's project. The deadline is February 2nd, so I encourage all writers to try to create a story or poem by tomorrow!


Join the Isle of Write on Discord

Sort:  

'That is how she liked it,
a world she could make her own
by playing puppets;
and you were the star of the show.'

I've definitely been in that position, a puppet that also knew it. Great write.

Thank you for the comment. Puppets, are like children. They have awareness but lack control.

You got SNEKKED!
Because I love your post!

You got snekked is my curation project!
I aim to find good content, share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got my upvote and I will share a link to your post in my Friday post!

You can find me on Discord or steemit.chat if you like to connect!

Best wishes
Snekky

I am honoured to be SNEKKED and feature in your curation project! I will be looking forward to see the other posts that got SNEKKED! Much love! Keep sharing kindness with the community <3

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Another great poem bro....i like the way you create and the reality of your words!

thank you :D ever since I've joined Steemit (14 days ago) I have improved significantly!

The lines are strong and great.... I love this piece bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66