She Liked It - Writing Contest Prompt?

in #keangaroo7 years ago (edited)

"She liked it"

sounds like a good final line of a story. I hear echoes of "Reader, I married him" - the famous line in Charlotte Bronte's immortal "Jane Eyre." (It also inspired a book title.)


Could this be the prompt for Keangaroo Writing Contest #1...?

Instead of supplying first words, supply FINAL words of a story.

Reader, I hear you. Would you like this to be a writing contest prompt?

No?

*sigh

Sorry, @geekorner aka Thunder_God, I saw this AFTER I'd published this post (I be editing it now):


Wait!
what about THEY liked it?

He liked it.
They liked it.
We hated it.

Remember that Life cereal commercial? "He likes it! Hey Mikey!"

I rest my case. Someone "Liking" it could very well be the END of a story.

With all due respect, Thunder God.

Comment to this post an assent, a nay, or an idea of your own. If your prompt is is better, you'll get full credit --in writing, not $$$ SBD--unless the contest pulls in so many upvotes, I can throw money around like candy at a parade.

Contest winners get paid $5 to $20 SBD,

depending on what all is in my wallet.

I'll give it a week. If nobody replies, I'll go "live" with whatever contest prompt I wish.

--Yes. I have hosted three writing contests at Steemit, under the name Rhino, which was given to me, but I have decided to hand it back. "Kean" sounds like "kane," not "keen," hence, "Keangaroo." (I love rhinos, but the little roo is closer to my spirit animal, if I have such a thing.)

Another place to ping me with ideas is The Isle of Write --

Want to join a fantastic community of creatives of all kinds? Drop by the Isle. This post would not have happened without the Isle of Write fiction workshop. Click the treasure map below to join us on discord.

-- Isle of Write Logo and Footer done with love by the lovely @pegasusphysics

Pixabay photo of baby roo ("joey"), 1942

Sort:  

I arrived here as a result of the words “writing contest”. I recently ran a writing contest. In mine I gave away well over $1000 in upvotes over a two week period. There were hundred’s of entries. The typical level of imagination was very low, and the typical quality of writing well below the average for steemit. It was obvious that the financial incentive attracted the wrong kind of writer.

I read your blog twice. Perhaps it is part of a bigger conversation, about a writing competition? In which case a link to the contest would give it more context.

On the other hand, if this blog is supposed to stand on its own, I find it hard to comprehend what you are looking for.

I get the point that there is debate whether a story can end with “she liked it”, or that maybe there was a writing contest with this name (you did not supply a link).

The people who already commented, on your blog here started and finished their comment saying “I like it” - which can’t be what you were expecting?

I think like me, they are missing some context.

Anyway, I remain perplexed as to what it is all about.

Thank you for asking! (And yes, $$ as an incentive to write may not lead to good writing.)

I was testing the idea of "She Liked It" as a prompt.
See https://steemit.com/keangaroo/@carolkean/she-liked-it-keangaroo-writing-contest-prompt-prize-pool

Then I added "We're Worried About You" as an alternate prompt, AND the deadline is extended:
https://steemit.com/writing/@carolkean/she-liked-it-we-worry-about-you-writing-contest-curation-extended-deadline

Thanks for explaining! Now I have read your original blog on it, this one falls into context.

Looking back, my mistake was to offer monetary rewards for the story. Those I voted at 100% were getting over $40 and even at 1% it was $0.40. There were armies of people who were plainly posting anything to share in the reward. A lot of very careless writing, failure to read the rules and literally rubbish with little or no imagination. Due to the clusters from certain areas, I am sure preachers told their flock to do it, or trachers gave it as a class homework assignment. Next time, I will try something which attracts less crap.

I interfere in your dialogue, because I have something to say.
then that you offered money for the fact that people wrote stories and participated in the contest - it's not a mistake, it's an experience. You now know that this is not the best option for rewards, because people abuse it. Users tend to look for easy ways to earn money, which is why they made low-grade text just to get a reward.
For example, I'm a Russian-speaking user and often use a piper, that's why the text is distorted, but that does not mean that I'm writing shit. This is an exception.
Another thing, I would suggest you make a competition with more stringent conditions and thresholds for entry. Let this competition will be limited remuneration - this will contribute to the creation of really high-quality texts and will filter out the bad ones.
Such competitions where a person uses his imagination is a great way to express oneself and stand out among others.
You have gained experience and made the appropriate conclusions from it, so another time, I'm sure, it will be more interesting.
I'm always ready to help @swissclive with a good idea

Danny, thanks so much for these thoughts. I will definitely make more stringent conditions and limit the payout. I forgave the translated texts. I am very tolerant when English is not the mother tongue. What surprised was the high percentage with no imagination, so I ended up with stories about what the cat had for lunch, or what the priest said in Church on Sunday!

Stiffening the rules is a good tactic.
I see a lot of commentators on steemit, who write superficial thoughts. They do not get tired of reading the text written by the author, they want to make a quick comment and get leky money. This is not right and it must be combated.
Judge for yourself ... it's easier to write a few comments and get money. But it is much more difficult to make good content (or comment) that will be justified and carry in itself useful information. With such fans of "easy money" you need to fight and I support your ideas in this.
Recently, your activity has fallen, can you find out why ?:

Activity lower due to illness. So tired these days.

I understand you, I recently badly poisoned myself, so in a painful state it is very difficult to be active.
I hope you'll get better soon. Rest and fill your strength.

I was just wondering where you are @swissclive. I hope you get better soon!

the high percentage with no imagination -
yes
Reading Indie Authors, and even published, and even best selling authors, I am struck by how mundane or over-done most of it is.
Fresh and original is hard to find

If anyone else does, maybe I'll go with it - thanks Ellie!

Well, I love you, but that's nothing new ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63773.27
ETH 2738.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59