Low-Carb Keto Pizza

in #ke7 years ago (edited)

Greeting Keto Steemians!
Does anyone hate watching their family eat yummy pizza and you know that the pizza crust is off limits on a keto or low-carb lifestyle? Well my family made personal pizzas last night and I made my own with a carb free crust. I've tried making cauliflower crust before and I wasn't impressed. It had a spungy texture and you could never pick a piece up with your hands . It was disappointing to say the least. But this chicken crust recipe only has 3 main ingredients and spices:

  1. 12.5oz can of chicken
  2. 1 egg
  3. 1/2 cup of grated cheese ( I used Cheddar Jack cheese)

The nutrition facts for the crust ONLY are:

Mix all 3 ingredients in a mixing bowl and break up chicken into small pieces. The seasonings I used were salt, pepper, dry italian seasoning and Chilie Lime seasoning blend (from Trader Joes). I wanted my crust to be a little spicy. I used parchment paper and a pizza stone but you can use any pizza or sheet pan. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Pour the chicken mixture onto the parchment paper and form into a circle. I used a fork to shape and pat down the mixture into a thin layer . I baked the crust for 25 minutes, then turned it over and baked for another 5 minutes. My crust was actually crunchy on the bottom. The purpose for baking it is to dry out the mixture and melt the cheese to "glue" it all together. I may bake a little longer next time to see if it is even more crunchy and possibly add some cream cheese to the mix.
Let me say it does NOT taste like bread, but it is an awesome substitute for building your pizza upon. I used garlic alfredo sauce instead of jar pizza sauce because it has 2g of carb per 1/4 cup (and I only used 2 tbsp). I also added large sliced pepperoni, peppers, organic mushrooms and another 1/2 cup of shredded pepper jack cheese on top. It was a great meal and I ate the whole thing. Needless to say I didn't loose a pound yesterday.

One final thought I had was halfing the chicken mixture and baking 2 smaller crust. As a man I have some portion control issues so that would help me eat less. I'll put the extra crust in a zip-lock bag and freeze or keep refrigerated for another meal.

I hope this gives everyone a new idea for pizza night with the family. If you are struggling on a keto or low-carb lifestyle, remember creativity is the key. Try to find a few things you really love to eat and modify them to make them work for your HFLC life. God Bless you all and Keep on Steemin'!

Sort:  

Solid post for us keto warriors, update your tags and use all 5!
You'be been followed and upvoted!
Steemit Signature Pic.jpg

Hey thanks for catching my tags. I had typed them in and somehow deleted most of them. I followed you and upvoted as well. KetoWarriorsRUs

I thought something happened or you were about to praise keck...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65