K-Boppin': Solo Female Bop'mination! (And...a boy group)

in #kboppin7 years ago (edited)

Hihi Steemiter!

I'm back with another 5 favorite songs of the week for the K-Pop world. It has been a really good week with new releases that made it automatically on my repeat list and I have some good throwbacks in there as well. I'm seeing a trend with female domination as my list this week is mainly solo female artists, but I do have a boy band in there. Got to give our boys some love too!

Let's go!


Heroine (주인공) - SUNMI (선미)

Sunmi makes a comeback this week with Heroine! This song is sparking controversy for being eerily similar to Cheryl Cole's Fight For This Love . Which, I think I totally hear it too but I'm not a music producer and do not understand how these things come together, so I don't think I have much say on this topic...

The say I do have is, I still love this song! And I'm loving Sunmi's explosion as a solo artist. She has the best level of quirk that makes her extremely enjoyable to watch. The lyrics of this song personally resonate with me as well, as "The show must go on".

Roller Coaster - Chungha

I was IN LOVE with Chungha's solo debut single, Why Don't You Know. That dance, that voice...ooo girl! Girl's got it!

So obviously when I saw the release of her 2nd single I hopped on that shit right away! Honestly, I didn't think it was as good as Why Don't You Know at first, I think mainly because the chorus of the song doesn't have as fun of dance move (I was finger dance pointing a lot in the streets with Why Don't you Know). This song keeps growing on me though, especially after watching a few live performances. I'm excited to see more of Chungha's growth in the K-Pop scene. Get it girl!

My Flower (꽃이야) - JBJ

This is another 2nd release by rookie group JBJ. The JBJ members are actually contestants from the popular Idol reality TV show Produce 101 (Chungha was actually from that show's first season). These boys didn't make it into the final selection (that band is Wanna One), but they were so popular still the boy's agencies decided to form their own boy group to promote them together.

I kept them on my radar because I really liked their first release Fantasy. One of boys has similar looks to Jackson of Got7 too, who, is on my bias list (eeeyy Jackssoonn! ❤️ ). From the screenshot I thought it was going to be a really flowery song. See, from past K-Pop experiences, a group will release a really "sexy" or "tough" then with their next release turn it around with something overly cute. This didn't make me throw up flowers though! I thought it was an appropriate level of cuteness compared to their last concept. The beat throwdown helped but overall the song is light-hearted and makes for a good listen. Yay JBJ! Stay on my watch list!

Into you(반해) - Jun Hyo Seong(전효성)

Alright, throwing in some throwbacks into the mix here. Jun Hyo Seong is one of my favorite girl solo artist (although she originated from a band named Secret, a band I really loved too...minus their ageyo era...that was hard to watch). I don't know what it is! I can't stop watching her move...maybe it's body goals because she really does have a fabulous body 😲. I did really love this song though, it's an old school beat, reminded me of Spice Girl days.

Crazy - Son Dam Bi

Throwing back even further to 2009! This song is so old I couldn't find the official music video for this song! This song really got me into Son Dam Bi, who at the time was pinned the girl version of Rain. I remember watching this and thinking just how sexy she looked and I wanted to be like that. The dancing in the street take away move was the hand on the chest and shaking my head.


So, what new release did you enjoy the most?
Is there a song you're missing too?

Thanks for reading!! ❤️

Sort:  

wow cant believe it, i just finished watching partime idol an hour ago and one of the charaters is so handsome but i forgot to search what his name is until i food this blog of yours and watched the videos you shared, just found out that he is a member of the new group JBJ and his name is Kwon Hyeonbin! hahaha

Yay! I'm so glad I was able to help you out!! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58786.64
ETH 2309.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49