Heading to Gwaii Haanas - August 14, 2014

in #kayaking7 years ago

Walking around the abandoned village gives me the feeling of contentment, calmness, and childhood playfulness. As a child I was the happiest just sitting in a meadow, hiking through the forest, or playing with the sea creatures at the beach. This place brings me back to that time, and it fills the void which the urban city could not. I wonder if it affects others as it does me.

TrailForest.jpg
Walking trail through the abandoned village

Totem.jpg
The totems go back to earth

The trip down south brings us to all the abandoned Haida villages, and taking in a bit of kayaking in the calm waters. Here you can see the sea urchin, a delicacy that I cannot appreciate. The silence of paddling forces one to get the full experience of what you are seeing, hearing, and feeling. The self. My breath is taken away by the beauty of this land, and I do not take it for granted.

SeaUrchin.jpg
Sea urchins

This is my maiden voyage to the south of the islands. As a young woman, I did not have interest in the land, the culture, or being Haida. I did not start thinking about it until I moved away and matured. I missed Haida Gwaii so much, but I made my life in the city. Now I get to see what I yearned for, and it is magnificent. I am so excited to see it all, the villages where my ancestors occupied the land. I drink it all in. I am home.
kayaking.jpg
Taking in the morning

As we steam south we come across a Coast Guard Vessel named after Tanu, translated to its Haida name: T'aanuu Llnagaay, which means Eelgrass Town referring to the eelgrass beds found nearby.

Tanu.jpg

Tomorrow another adventure

Sort:  

Congratulations @stephanypryce! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thank you, Yay!

Congratulations @stephanypryce! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @stephanypryce! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44