Why racing drivers love speed

in #karting8 years ago (edited)

The first time i experienced high speed racing, it felt addictive. And no, i am not talking about drugs.

The first time was in a go-kart on an outdoor track. I was nervous and my friends already had driven there before. Me, being a sim racer (gp2 from microprose) felt the pressure. I know it is silly but that is how my mind works.

So out we went. Driving some laps on a narrow track and getting a little faster every lap, I was soon overtaking some slower drivers. It felt good. But it would become even better. It started to rain.

The rain, also called the big equalizer in racing, was pouring down on me. I did not have rain clothes on, and i felt the mud and water in my mouth, and even the socks started to get wet. The spray off the tires directed right in the visor when i turned into the fast right hand corner. You feel the back end get loose. And then you start to get this feeling over the car. Soon lapping faster then everyone out there. And just trying to drive more perfect every lap, Then i knew it, i was hooked.

But why does speed exert so much control on me?
One of the things is an altered state of mind. There is only one focus. It would become a powerful force in my life.

An other thing that makes it great is the kick it gives you when you go flat out trough a corner or brake as late as you can.

Later when i joined a karting club other kicks where added. Competition and the feeling it gives when you crab a pole or win.

The only downside? Money!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43