KafkA's Book Club, Vol.1: ANTHEM by Ayn Rand (post one)

in #kafkasbookclub7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6935.JPG

Hey everyone, a precious little gift I had ordered for myself a couple weeks ago arrived in the mail today!


I finally received the paperback edition of Ayn Rand's dystopian fiction novella, Anthem, I had ordered online a while back. My precioussss!

Having read Atlas Shrugged and really enjoying it, I wanted to read more of Rand's work, as I resonate very strongly with much of her philosophy and ideological foundations. I started reading Anthem over Christmas break in the states--picking it up from a friend's bookshelf--but as the hustle bustle of the holidays was a factor, I wasn't able to finish it.

What is KafkA's book club and how does it work?

Basically, I want to read and discuss some books, with a hub for said discussion here on Steemit. Anyone who wants to join just needs to get a copy of the book being read (or an online version) and read along as we go in sections (post installments) making our way through each work.

Discussion can take many forms. Users making their own posts should use the tag #kafkasbookclub. Users wishing to discuss the book, but not make their own posts can simply comment on the "hub posts" here on my blog page. This post is the callout for those who wish to join this "round" and discuss Anthem.

Since Anthem is just a novella, and is very short, only three posts will be needed here on my blog for this book: this post, a post reviewing parts 1 - 6, and then a post reviewing parts 7 - 12 along with final thoughts on the work.

Discussion of parts 1 - 6 will be posted here on my blog next week! If you wish to join in, get your copy, and let's read! looking forward to your comments and original posts!

Don't forget the tag, #kafkasbookclub!


(ALSO! No spoilers! Please don't ruin the experience for others by discussing parts/chapters before we've read them!)


~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Tube Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Pretty cool mate, Atlas Shrugged is a great book.
Have you ever read Slave Species of God by Michael Tellinger?
Talk about a mind fuck! It's not fiction. I highly recommend it, that and The Hiram Key by Christopher Knight & Robert Lomas.
Both books will have you questioning everything we've been led to believe about our history.
I only read fiction these days when I'm laying on a beach.

oh what a great idea to create a reading club and tag!)
If i pick my thoughts and impressions of read books together, I'll join it my all means!)

paper books have great, unrepeatable charm, don't they?
when I read a book online and I'm fond of it, I always try to buy it in a printed version, because nothing can be compared wth pleasure of rereading a favourite book on paper...sheets whisper, breath and magnet readers!)

I will be the first to enter your club!)
https://steemit.com/kafkasbookclub/@taliakerch/how-to-raise-a-healthy-child-in-spite-of-your-doctor
have just made a post)
cool idea, thank you!!

Thank you, @taliakerch. This looks like an excellent book, and please feel free to use the tag, but Anthem was the book for this round.

Graham, great idea! I've been nose deep in books for quite awhile and was thinking of starting a book club on here as well. I've just ordered Anthem and it'll be my first Ayn book. Looking forward to seeing how you break down the structure for us all to follow along. If you need any help just let me know on chat/comment!

Excellent! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

I prefer novellas as I have a short attention span, I've never had much interest in Ayn Rand but maybe I'll give it a quick read. I do love dystopian novels.

Great man. Looking forward to hearing your take!

A novella by Ayn Rand? Does that mean it's ONLY 400 pages long?!

Seriously, I read and loved Atlas Shrugged and have been meaning to tackle something else by her for a long time. If this is short, then it would be perfect!

Yeah man, very short. Could be read in one day.

Very cool. Book club were some of my first posts here on steem. Hit on 1984 and farenheight. Haven't heard of this one, maybe I will check it out when I finish up with some William gibson

thanks bro emazing I read book leisure time..I am interesting reading book.

thanks your post!

your post is great and interesting for me I like your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74