Colin Kaepernick and the National Anthem

in #kaepernick8 years ago

I have mixed feelings about Colin Kaepernick and the National Anthem. As a proud American I feel he should stand out of respect for our country and our flag. But, I also respect the servicemen and women who have fought, some dying, in order to give him the right to make his own choice. He is one person. Stop dwelling on this and work toward a country where all the people work and live together in harmony no matter what religion, nationality or color of their skin. America is supposed to be the home of the free not the home of bigots, racists and haters.

Sort:  

I think Colin has fallen into a divide and conquer trap. Black lives matter is being funded by people who wish to enforce their own agenda. But one thing I noticed is how this is being reported is being distorted. "Colin knelt during the national anthem" sends a whole different message don't you think?

I agree. I think most of the racial unrest in America today is caused by the way the news reports events. They just want to idealize events and cause more problems than to report just facts and let the people decide how they feel.

right cannot be given, only taken. who takes them? the government those servicemen work for. makes no sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60051.08
ETH 2417.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43