You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Starry Night, Second Try

in #justbecause5 years ago (edited)

We live smack dab in the middle between NYC, Philly, and Baltimore. We only get to see the major stars due to so much light pollution. If we are way out in the country with no street or house lights, then maybe you see a few more than normal. I think when shooting long exposure night shots, its very difficult not to get star blur; editing is a wise option and worked in your favor. Nice edit on the first picture! I like star blur and it always amazes me how quickly the earth is rotating as we wait for the shutter to close :-)

I also keep a nice think plastic bag in my camera case. When out in the extreme cold, its never a good thing to just run inside with the camera fully exposed. Condensation could build up where you don't want it. So..I put the camera into the tightly sealed bag and it helps just enough to ease the transition from cold to warm. 20 to 30 minutes and it's good to go. I've seen people tape a half used (not to hot) hand warmer to the bottom of a camera in those extreme temps, in order to keep the battery at a more functional temperature.

Best wishes in March!

Sort:  

I was not really aware of the condensation issue to much. I should keep a freezer bag in my camera kit for those just in case it's needed times. I don't think I would be able to take the cold of two battery drains, so I'm not to worried about the battery issue. 5 degrees is way to cold to try and out last two batteries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67