Some more Photo Play

in #justbecause5 years ago

Yes It Arrived

New stuff, and here is what I have done with it so far. This picture was taken indoors, yesterday on the 19th at 4:22 pm. We had some sunshine yesterday, and getting more nice days. On Monday I finally got my new paint/photo programs, and have been playing with and learning some of its abilities. My own learning process is going to be a little bit slow since it has been so long since I have played with real photo editing software. So enough of that. Here is the original shot from yesterday, the only editing done on it was resizing so it would not use up to much bandwidth.

001 resized.jpg

We had some sun shining in the window, and the only real green is the house plants my wife has, so snip-id-d-snip I snapped a couple pictures to play with. For a no flash picture just so so. It did not however really show the sunshine and the color, I wanted more out of the picture. We all, or so it seems, want more out of everything. I could have settled for that picture and 10 years down the road I would remember what a nice plant that was, but would I remember the day, the sun the drive and new toys? Not likely after all it is just a so-so everyday snap, and there is nothing wrong with that, I love everyday snaps.

So enough of that, you want to see what the results of the edits were, nothing super drastic, just some tweaks here and a few clips there, and here we have the finished product.

played and fixed image 001.jpg

It is the same picture only cropped, and like I mentioned a few tweaks here and there. I like it, but then again if I did not like it I would not have posted it. Well step one in the learning process complete, exposure fixing and smart edit picking, and then the hard part, what part to show.

Sort:  

Some dont agree with me, but I find being able to make the software do what you like to the image is just about as important as any other component of the craft! Nice work. Followed :)

It is a lot of fun playing with the pictures. I honestly do not know a lot about sun angle, time of day, exposure setting, white balance (which I never heard of till my new camera), and all the other settings.

Now when I was in High School and took photography for a year or so after I remembered some things but that was a long long time ago, and you took a lot more time setting the picture up because film was not real cheap to get developed.

Interesting contrast here, @bashadow, not only between the two images, but what happens in the second image alone. The darks get darker, while the leaves stand out, and you can actually see them with other than a vibrant green.

From owning small weekly newspapers where we used digital cameras, and Photoshop, to now, when I still have the equipment and the software, I have yet to take a photography class. I probably should, but I end up doing a lot in photo editing to clean up what I don't like about the photo I took.

A class would be good for me on editing, but I like just trying to find my way through it. I liked the Corel Paintshop pro I had way way back when it came in a nice jewel case, and had a big book to look through, and a bonus disk with a lot of free clip art to use. But that was back in the days of 386 and 486 machines, I bought that when I got a small Kodak digital camera. I don't think Kodak even makes digital's any more. I really do miss the days of owner manuals.

I don't miss the CDs ,but I'm in full agreement with the owner's manual. Even if there is one, it's a pdf, and while I don't mind reading digitally, it would be nice to have a book so you could look at it while you're working on the photo. instead of moving back and forth between the pdf and the photo app.

With photoshop, I know there's all kinds of things you could do, but I mainly stick to two or three settings to adjust, unless I'm getting fancy, then I might try some filters. Modern digital cameras within the last five or so years and smartphone cameras, especially within the last two or three years, are pretty amazing to work with, compared to what there was in the day.

Or maybe I'm just getting lazy in my old age. :)

Hi @bashadow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.224 which ranks you at #2943 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2942).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #130.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dear bashadow:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

In a word, NO Thanks, okay that was two words.

The contrast between the two photos is like night & day. 😊 Nicely done on the edit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95