Day 654: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: key - My poetic attempt

in #justbecause5 years ago

8-5-2019


Image source -Day 654: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: key (post)

freewrite poem line3 small.png

It was simple as could be,
a prompt to jog a memory free.
five minutes time is all it takes,
to make this memory come awake.

I sat and thought of this prompts word,
nothing in my mind was heard.
Not a word or thought to come,
a simply word not hard for some.

So I sat and stared, and thought,
nothing came, no single thought.
Whats one to do with writers block
where is the key to that closed lock.

freewrite poem line3 small.png

It has been awhile since I did any freewrites. Warning, the 5 minutes to do the writing is the easy part of the post. Well not that easy, but it take the least amount of time, only five minutes. Then you need, (not really), to fix the typos, the formatting, all while trying, (as much as you would really like to), not adding to the freewrite part. Then there is the rest of the post. The little bits of added content. Like the separation line I did. That is still not right looking, I even used the ruler function, but it looks off, the words should be centered, but that was the third try, and I try to stop at that point. So over all time to make a 5 minute freewrite post, at least for me, was about two hours.

Today's prompt was Key. The image source link will take you to the post.

Sort:  

Sometimes the mind does that... but you managed and the kernel I found was...

Whats one to do with writers block
where is the key to that closed lock.

Posted using Partiko Android

But you sure did have the key that opened the lock to do a freewrite. Nice poem @bashadow. : )

Thank you, It had been awhile since I did much creative writing on this account, and I do enjoy reading some of the freewrites when I have the time.

Are you assuming writing comes from memory? My most pleasurable moments in writing are the ones that come from nowhere, like a delightful break from reality. It is true that I write from real events at times, but I usually feel despair after that. Writing is my yoga.

No, I try not to assume anything. I have no idea where creativity comes from. Prompts can trigger memories however, and then we can take those memories and stretch them and bend them and make them what we want, or let the auto writer in us take over.

People think that hindsight is 20/20 vision, it's not. Most memories are not that clear, you can remember the smell or the color of the rose, but what color socks did you have on, what cologne did your partner have, were they wearing a long sleeved shirt or short sleeved? Did you have a dress or pants on? No memory is 20/20.

hahahaha! Excellent! Welcome back!

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-655-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-ideas-worth-spreading

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Hi @bashadow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.326 which ranks you at #2703 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 34 places in the last three days (old rank 2669).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 144 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62647.29
ETH 2439.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66