How Should One Take an Insult?

Do you think I just found grumpycat in human form?

The anger wasn’t meant for him but he felt it rise and spit towards him in form of words that meant more than what the situation warranted. His boss had just insulted his being in front of his team, in the most condescending way a team lead could ever imagine.

Since morning, bossy pants had had a cloud of he who was at the edge of a deadline while being watched by his creditors every time he took a shit.

Unfortunately, Usman, the team lead of the Software and Development Department of Moonshot Technologies, was the black sheep that bore the brunt of daddy’s distasteful morning.

Although the degrees might have varied, we all have been there, that position where you just stand and have insult poured at you with no incentive to pour back else it gets worse. The prime instinct is to attack back or at least offer some form of defense, some form of explanation.

During these moments, our pulses shoot up, we think less, feel more and as such, we are advised not to react because since our reasoning has taken up back seat, we will most likely regret the step we take once we get home.

This brings us back to the philosophical question – yeah, I want to sound a bit sophisticated here – how do we react?

After listening to my elders for years, I concluded the best way to take an insult is to say nothing. Second best way: walk away; provided who you are walking away from is not in charge of your basic monthly income. The next favourite is to speak up and defend but since this will lead to a shouting match, make sure you ain’t a bird in man’s flesh.

The last favourite technique is to go your natural-instinct route AKA physical royal rumble. This was our grandfathers favourite move till they decided the ball sacks being damaged during such collisions were not worth the blood and sweat.

Whatever happens though, you have to remember that when a person insults you, 100% of what is wrong is from the person. Not you. Every time I have lashed out on a sibling, friend or foe, it was always because I was having a hard time or day, feeling dejected and frustrated and felt I had to make someone else get a taste of my misery. The abuser is the one with the problem no matter what he says of your incompetence, looks or any other abstract thing pained folks use in making others more hurt with hopes that they themselves will feel better.

The next time your supervisor tears you apart with words, lean back, put on a smile and observe. It will be nothing more than a movie showing you how frustrated and fucked up his life is.

Peace.




Image was gotten from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Wise words! I haven't had a boss insult me to my face that I can remember but it's almost worse when they do things passive aggressively like not give a raise or not promote when others they "like" better get the benefits. As crappy as it sounds I would rather them tell me verbally what is wrong at least then I would know.

If they ain't telling it to your face, then, it is most likely guilty conscience. They must feel they dont have any logical reason to treat you less. So they avoid facing the truth by all means.

Chaiii, holybranches you have hit the nail on the point. Here is your own point that really touches me,
"Whatever happens though, you have to remember that when a person insults you, 100% of what is wrong is from the person. Not you. Every time I have lashed out on a sibling, friend or foe, it was always because I was having a hard time or day, feeling dejected and frustrated and felt I had to make someone else get a taste of my misery".

You have made me understand, that it's not worth it being angry with someone, because finally they are only showing there foolishness.

Thanks a million bro, my favorite author @holybranches. I have gladly re-steemed your post.

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05