You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Bringing Assange Home Would Be The Best Possible Thing For Australia

in #julianassange6 years ago

Another great post caitlin

Based on your eulogy of Assange I've not only come to understand his and your work better, but also one of the journalists I've most admired ever since 16 year-old coming-of-age me started getting interested in the topics you are here writing about (empire, power, war, exploitation, etc.) and that is... You guessed it.

The unforgettable John Pilger.

Around 16 as the child of two Americans living abroad (I never lived in the US) I started having an identity crisis, because as I became aware of certain things my parents may have never explained to me in a coherent way (can't really blame them, it's a bummer of a conversation and their decision to leave and raise me elsewhere kind of reflects the fact that they didn't really want to deal with any of it or have their kids be brought up in it)...

My parents always raised me to be critical of authority, even their own; which made me public enemy of 80% of my teachers at school but also made me a functioning and rational thinker, much like yourself (albeit I still have a way to go before I can hold the bastard's asses as close to the fire as you do!)

But for me, John Pilger played a critical role in crystallizing all of my discontentment and resentment towards the supposed culture and power that I had always felt I heralded from.

I think it played a huge role in me deciding to go live in China rather than the US to get started in life. Why I chose Beijing instead of New York or LA.

It's part of the reason why even though I've matured out of so many of my neurotic victimhood resentments and self-harming behaviors, all misguided but deeply rooted beliefs about the society I was supposedly most influenced by and therefore where a lot of my dark-side seemed to emanate from: I too share this powerful skepticism and disdain for anything that comes out of the mainstream socially-engineered NWO power-structure; no matter which branch or which facet of this power-structure it is....

I'm deeply, deeply skeptical and committed to a life-long resistance to it.

So, even though I've always thought of Assange as a common-hero, and not-at-all as a villain type, I'm glad you were able to explain to me why from this perspective...

Really great article.

Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88