Thursday 1st February 2018

in #judo7 years ago

Judo night tonight, one of my favourite nights of the week. Today we were working up various seoi nages from different situations.

The first scenario was if the partner tries an ouchi gari (major inner reap), stepping off and using the momentum to pivot into a seoi. This is quite classical and really nice when you hit it right.

I enjoyed drilling this one tonight and it's definitely something i'd like to try next time someone tries to Ouchi me in sparring.

The other setup from tonight was drawing your prtner in a circular motion and cutting back the other way. This has worked nicely for me in the past.

Finished off with randori (free sparring) I spent a few rounds helping the beginners with things they should be looking for.

BJJ next and it was a beast of a class. We started the class with guard pulls which is something I generally try to avoid but it's always good to practice. After that is was specific sparring for about forty minutes starting from the dreaded situp guard from last week.

In the guard I was continuing to struggle and found it difficult to do very much except transition to another position but I was lasting on average ten seconds which is up from three seconds last week so that was something positive!

Oss

Thanks for reading if you got this far!

Sort:  

Hey I saw you voted up on of my posts. I am going to return the favor and follow you.

Seonagi is my favorite throw. I just hate going for it in competition though. Im always nervous giving up my back

Thanks Mike, appreciated that yea can be a danger with seoi but if you feel your partner blocking you can switch backwards to osoto gari, that is a money move for me :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69