You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dog Investigates: Can we Skip Our Way to Happiness?

in #joy8 years ago

@kus-knee, this is an excellent article and a subject close to my heart as well.

I have been working mostly in elementary & primary levels schools for over 20 years now and have observed first hand the results of skipping. I conquer: the ones skipping are happier, in a general sense, Meanwhile, some kids may be finding themselves on a sad spectrum, when they start skipping, a lot of the clouds lift!

Even yesterday, as one of the last child was about to enter the school, I gave him a few little Charlie Chaplin jumps sideways and an automatic smile started... Well, maybe I looked like a fool from the perspective of some adults but no matter what, the kid had an easy smile to start the day with.

Last month, again, I must have had at least 12 children learning to do the Chaplin skip as I was walking outside on a magnificent sunny day. The joy was pervasive both for the kids and I. I can't help to believe that such activities greatly influence an experiential aspect of our being that connects with times of our lives when we felt energetic and joyful and, therefore, the simply action of skipping must be triggering these memories right up to the surface. But, by now, I can't wait to hear whether or not it is the case since, I am assuming that you have heard the answer in the documentary, YOU know that answer?!?

Thanks for another healthy brain tickle, keep your smile, maybe even skipping in public to bring back some joy, as in the movie "Life is Beautiful" and namaste :)

Sort:  

What great observations from a man with experience working with kids. When my son was in primary school the kids would never walk out the door of the school but they'd run, leap and skip for joy! I want those feelings back!

It is within all of us, yet what shape is it going to take? More importantly, what shape are you going to give it? In terms of sustainability, one simply can't skip forever and, therefore, must find an alternative. I'd have to call it "soul skipping" then. Often found in terms of humorous activities under the label of compassion toward oneself, in a sub-rubric titled "How not to take oneself too seriously and be patient with it". Emotions are the thoughts to which you have given colourful energies and the feelings travelling along with them can make for healthy or not so healthy friends. You seem to have a rather healthy arsenal of healthy ones under your belt and we all gain from it, especially you. Thanks for your candor and presence of heart & spirit. Namaste :)

The "King of Commentors"strikes again!

Thanks a again for your kind words and, especially for the tag category you filled my comment under: JOY! Namaste :)

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Much JOY in deed!!! Thanks a bunch, again for your generosity, greatly appreciated. Namaste :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36