What to do when things go sideways Journey #5steemCreated with Sketch.

in #journey7 years ago

vlcsnap-2017-11-13-02h04m24s945.png
Whatever we do, in which career path we take, things in life will not always run smoothly. If you're doing something that everything feels right, then you're doing something wrong. I haven't posted last week due to problems that I had encountered. I would explain further as the post continues.

An Uncontrollable Failure


It's me again, publishing another episode of my journey. I have felt in the past few weeks that everything I do, goes the wrong way.
IMG_20171101_151301.jpg
Sometimes subliminally, I intend to fail on the things that I do but last week, a lot of things really went sideways. I have participated in an ICO called Electroneum. I have put the last of my savings in this coin, trying it out and looking for the potential of the said coin. When the blockchain went live last November 1st, I had my first experience in mining. I have tried it out since I only own a low-end laptop and thinking that the difficulty would be low in the first few hours of mining. I have made about 27 ETN with my laptop when I made it run for about 8 hours. The project had issues during their wallet launching due to compromised accounts and DDoS attacks on their website. So the team postponed the release of the ICO tokens.
ETN.jpg
Image taken on a later date

Due to this event, I re-evaluated myself about the things that are currently happening. Would I be able to do something about it? No. then I just continued on the things that are needed to be done. I kept working. I plan to hold those coins for a while so, why the rush? I said to myself.

An Unexpected Failure


Well, I continued working and studying the things I needed to learn, I edited some clips on my vlogs.
IMG_20171102_224746.jpg
I haven't posted one yet since I want to have at least 3 videos ready to be uploaded weekly. Rendering a 5-minute video takes a lot of time in this stone-age laptop with 2GB of RAM available. Everytime I edit a photo, or a video, I needed to close everything so my PC will lag less(and I say less because it always freezes). This laptop taught me a lot about patience than anybody in the world ever had. I hate it how Chrome eats up a ton of RAM to run and I've tried some other browsers and the results are the same. Simply a normal day then suddenly, the PC crashed. I was thinking maybe it was because of the miner that I've tried that my laptop gave up. Or maybe it was something else. Anyway, I tried rebooting it but it won't start again. I fear that it was already gone. The files, the hard work I put in the last month or two, everything crashed. I will not lie, I felt the feeling of wanting to give up.
vlcsnap-2017-11-13-02h07m13s312.png
Losing my works even before I have released it made me real sad. I tried everything in my knowledge to recover the files but alas, my efforts were already worthless. My friend who was tech savvy was out of town. I tried to find a way, since I still don't have funds to make a professional fix it. After seven days of overthinking and sitting around thinking of a solution, I finally had it fixed.
IMG_20171109_173910.jpg
IMG_20171109_173927.jpg

My hard drive got fried. I still don't know what the reason was. Gladly, I had an old laptop that has a usable hard drive. Now temporarily, I transferred it to this laptop and finally I could work again! The week really stressed me out because of the events that have happened. But at the end of the day, things will always be fine. I was really focused on the failures during the week, forgetting that life is long. These are just micro-failures that I kept focused on while forgetting the macro-success I intended to work on. Well, I guess mindset really needs practice. And failures are a huge part in learning.






An Intentional Failure


In case you're wondering that's $1.30
This is my favorite type of failure. I have explained from my past posts why I am broke(and still am). I expected to have my paycheck last month. I have delayed complying my requirements so I would have accumulated salary that I could start investing in. But it seems that the pay's got delayed a little bit more and my resources are exhausted. I don't even have gas money, but I know I always find a way to go through. Good way to practice budgeting too. I would love to explain this a little bit more but it seems my laptop freezes now because of the length of this post. Until then.

Experience is the hardest teacher. It gives the test first, then the lesson afterwards
When you feel tired, don't quit; just take a break.
Follow me on [Facebook](https://www.facebook.com/MichaelJPSalazar/), [Instagram](https://www.instagram.com/michaeljpsalazar/), and [Twitter](https://twitter.com/MJPSalazar)

Sort:  

Came here to say the brave browser as well but see others have mentioned it. I've heard base fire fox by Mozilla is pretty nice again as well. Best of luck.

Thank you for the suggestion. I will try it out.

Have you tried the Brave browser? It's a formidable alternative to Chrome that might take up less of your computer resources, made by some of the original people behind Firefox from back in the day.

I haven't heard of this browser. Thank you for the suggestion. I will try it out when I get home.

:) This comment makes me happy

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team! Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!


You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

I accept. Thank you!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 33.0% @jasimg upgoat, thanks to @michaeljpsalazar
It consists of $3.9 vote and $1.3 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59541.21
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53