Chasing Education for New Experience, VSU II Topic 3

in #journeylast year

Hello everyone.

This time I want to share some stories of living away from your home, that is The Philippines.
In 2021, I got surprise news from my wife that she got a scholarship fully funded to continue studying for a master of Language Teaching at Visayas State University (VSU). VSU is a university situated in Baybay City, province of Leyte, Philippines. Thus, I’m so delighted that my family decided to come to the Philippines.

WhatsApp Image 2023-02-16 at 10.15.04.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2023-02-16 at 09.58.34 (1).jpeg

Actually, we are coming from Aceh, Indonesia which is located so far from the capital city and for sure, It is far away from the Philippines so we have to fly from Aceh to Jakarta and next to Manila, it took 4 hours flight.
Basically, traveling to another country is a common thing for me, once I always travel to other countries every year for work. However, this time is so challenging because we have to bring my baby there. Besides, we can feel the atmosphere of education overseas.

WhatsApp Image 2023-02-17 at 21.27.48.jpeg

Based on my views, VSU is nice and peaceful and also a beautiful place to stay. Because VSU is located by one of the last remaining rainforests here in the Philippines. There are many animal species and also many forest trees surrounded by hills. What makes me shocked is there is a sea in the campus area. Studying at Visayas State University (VSU) in Baybay which is like a dream, it is very close to the mountains and sea as well. It is such a good place to study with nature and fresh air always surrounding us.

WhatsApp Image 2023-02-17 at 21.27.47.jpeg

Firstly, moving here is a big challenge for me because I have to resign from my job in Aceh, but I do believe that I will get better in better personality in the future. On the other hand, I will learn something new here with new people that make me better.

The benefit of going overseas are:
1). Learning about another culture directly from the native.
Somehow learning cross-cultural understanding from books is not really representative of the feeling experience of cross-culture. meeting new people directly is an outstanding time to exchange our culture with others face-to-face and also a lot of fun.

2). Networking opportunities
Meeting new people is not only about sharing new cultures but also becomes a networking opportunity in the future. This network can help you in relationships. Thus, having these opportunities could help me to work at the professional level in other countries. Moreover, it’s always good even better to meet and be friends with many international colleagues.

WhatsApp Image 2023-02-16 at 10.14.27 (1).jpeg

3). You can make a language partner
Leaving a new place abroad is a such nice place. On the other hand, meeting new people learning new cultures, and also learning a new language. It is no matter how much grammar and vocabulary you memorized in school. Having new friends with people from different countries who speak foreign languages allows us to sharpen new language skills in a real, friendly, and relaxed environment.

ENJOY VSU..

Sort:  

Hello guys, nice to meet you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40