Quote of the Day - Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.

in #journey3 years ago

I never fear speaking with people who do not agree with me. In fact, it is often refreshing to disagree, and it is always interesting to see a statement from a different point of view. It doesn't mean that I think that I am wrong, but I still enjoy investigating a case, or maybe a statement, from different perspectives.

So, let us take a look at the quote of the day with that in mind.

sand-768783_640.jpg

Focus on the journey, not the destination. Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.

This is a true statement, but it is also not really true. How come? I enjoy running and I find joy in running, but I find great joy in finishing as well. I have great joy in reading a book, but I also experience great joy as I read the last page and I know that I have finished it.

I feel like this is a very black and white quote. It sounds nice, but it doesn't have to be so white or black. It is definitely wrong if you do something, only to reach a goal, but you are feeling totally bad all along the way. That might be true about some certain activity that you do for a limited time (or like washing the toilet), but the most time consuming tasks in your life shouldn't be terrible, but they should be enjoyable things that you do because you like them, and not just because they bring food on the table.

What is my recommendation?

Focus on the jourey. Enjoy the journey. After all, that is where you spend most of your time. Enjoy the ride, and work hard so that you will finish your tasks and reach your goals. And when you have reached a goal, celebrate and go wild. But then on the next day, make sure to keep focusing on the journey and walk on and move forwards once again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54