My Bursting Heart Must Vent (But, In A Good Way)

in #journaling8 years ago

I don't know about the rest of you, but sometimes, the best thing that I can do when I can’t seem to settle down about something is to just open my laptop, or pick up my pen and begin writing about whatever is on my mind. Although I always write for me, I do not always write about me or to me. Often, even when it is in the form of an essay meant for anyone to see, I am writing to a friend or family member whose reaction (or lack thereof) to their current circumstance is beginning to concern my soul. I do not always share what I have written with others, but writing down my thoughts, whether in journal just for myself, or as an essay that I decided to post online definitely helps to curb my anxieties about things. And, when I do finally decide to talk to my friends or family members about their situations, I am able to do so with a much clearer mind. That’s because writing down our thoughts is very therapeutic. And, as you can see from the quote above, that has been a well-known fact for centuries (Abigail Adams lived from 1744 – 1818). In fact, many on social networking sites, already know that, because we vent on those sites all of the time, whether our friends or followers like what we have to say or not. But, they just don’t understand that as long as we are not breaking any laws (by doing such things as cyberbullying), we are entitled to express our feelings and opinions, regardless of whether or not we are being politically correct. Some just don’t seem to get that they don’t have to respond to everything that they read. Do any of you keep handwritten or typed out journals along with posting your feelings on sites such as this, and if you do, do you ever use any of those thoughts that you have collected to create your discussions on here?

Sort:  

I had a journal whilst I was growing up, I wrote in that badboy until I was well in my late 20's, I have no idea why I stopped, I guess the advent of social media gave me another outlet in which to vent or discuss, so the writing of my journal seemed a little defunct. I miss it, I really do.

Either that or life caught up to you and took precedence. Work and family life can do that to us sometimes.

Very true. I have tried to re establish my journal over the years but it jever really takes off. My online blogs are pretty big, however. Such is life, I guess :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45