You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If It's Important Enough, You'll Do It [Journal]

in #journal7 years ago

People keep telling me that writers are supposed to be sad. That misery is the only way to create good art.

Who tells you this? Secretly sad people who wish they could be writing? Or stymied artists who think that embracing sadness could un-jam their creative blockages, as if the promise of creative redemption was meant to be compensation for their tears?

Yah, I'll take happy and well-paid and pubished over undiscovered genius any day.

It’s because I was terrified of being abandoned...

Keep living and writing and smiling. We're here with you and we want to hear it.

Sort:  

I don't know. People are stupid. Even other successful writers seem to feel they can only tap into the sadness of them. If I tell people I'm depressed sometimes they'll just kind of shrug and say "Well, you're a writer." So many sins and vices can be forgiven because people don't really understand how art works.

And thank you @winstonalden. I'm glad to be in a welcoming space.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59