Journal Entry 001 - Bits and Pieces

in #journal6 years ago

One could argue that the pursuit of self betterment is noble in and of itself. But what if it's necessary? In any case where a person, for one reason or another, lies in shambles, mere shadows of their former selves; one could argue that self-improvement is key to one's survival. Of course, not just any plain ol' living will do, simply carrying on means nothing if it achieves nothing. The choice is, therefore, binary; to struggle and thrive or, to simply carry on, wallowing.

In my case, I decided upon the former, rather than latter, and now, several years since, finally finished sorting through the proverbial rubble, and, having built a somewhat solid foundation, decided to share my experience as I go along.
After building up a foundation of my core identity, doing so by consuming as much written material as possible; I set out to get a job, nothing to do with hard labor and definitely nothing with a huge learning curve, having learned both of these restrictions applied to me through trial and error. I lucked out by landing a job at a small market not half a mile away.
Getting the job, I figured, was a stepping stone that will allow me to break out into the world, seeking better ground. And while the job is not much in the terms of money, I figure it will pay the bills and allow me to set aside a few hundred a month, just enough to advance my larger plan in some noticeable way.

Working 6 days a week for seven to ten hours a day is not easy by any means, and not being in the best shape in my life is not exactly helping. After two short weeks; my second 'job' (which is more like a paid hobby) of being a Dungeon Master in a local establishment, fell through, due to schedule conflicts and exhaustion. I still manage to run my private groups about two to three weeks per month, but going into overdrive after stagnating for a long period of time can be a grueling experience.

Looking back it is quite humorous, how my life choices and overall bad luck led me into the loving embrace of a lovely collective of coworkers and a massively supporting community of D&D players and fellow Dungeon Masters. It's a lovely step down from the daily grind and overextension of frantically running online self-promotion and working in a field that, let's face it, just isn't the right field for me. Even though, I would recommend this experience to everyone for at least a year, working in web development as a solo developer was just killer.

Hopefully such little intermezzos between posting story content from campaigns, or development logs of custom modules, or even, occasionally a word or two about tech, will not be too boring for you to read through.
I am, honestly, writing this mostly for myself, and anyone getting any good advice or support from this will just be a cherry on the top.

We shall indeed see how this goes.

-Tawnos

Sort:  

Congratulations @tawnos! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60893.95
ETH 2351.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54