You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ice Journal #8102031

in #journal7 years ago

I love this poem for a couple of reasons. First of all, it is incredibly expressive and relatable. Secondly, I love wintry and icy themes. There is something deep about the cold, the same way that a depression may freeze someone from living.

There were two particular lines I absolutely loved.

"Ghasts gathered in my barn brain".

The simple play of the two alliterations (if I can call them that way) is smart and leaves more impact with that imagery.

"My sadness was most happy
As I aged and truth sank in."

This was quite reflective. Sadness is not always 'bad'. Sure, it is not the most pleasant feeling. However, sadness is a necessary part of acceptance; and when there is truth behind the sadness, it is not as disturbing, it feels natural. It belongs.

And regarding the note: I agree. Write, write & write. Poetry is what got me out of my depression 4 years ago. Papers bore all those unbearable feelings that I used to have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58793.48
ETH 2508.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44