Journal – Happy RocksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #journal7 years ago

I found a painted rock today. Well, actually I found it a few weeks ago but I didn’t pick it up. I was wanting to get it but I thought I would leave it for someone else to discover.

PaintedRockbb724.md.jpg
A Painted Happy Face Rock

Today it was still there and looking a bit weathered by the rain. I figured if someone didn’t take it soon the park people would start mowing the grass and discover it the hard way.

I brought it home and it is sitting safe and sound in my flower garden next to some drift wood I collected.

I think it is really cool that people are doing this and having fun leaving painted rocks around for people to discover. I guess I hesitate a bit to take things but really it feels better to be happy at getting the painted rock. I’m enjoying the happy painted smile.

I’m not sure if I will hide it somewhere else. I’m not much of a rock painter so perhaps some time I will. It would be fun to make one with a Steem logo on it and hide it around here though.

Cleaning the Bird House

Birdhouse5816e.md.jpg
Birdhouse Cleaning

I cleaned the bird house out today too. There will most likely be a family of starlings nesting here again soon. The house was really not too messy - who ever lived there last season was a pretty good housekeeper.

Starlings usually nest a couple of times in a season, and it is really fun to hear the little ones chirping when the adults come back with the bugs that they like to eat.

The neighbors don’t like the bird house too much because the adults fly out over their yard on the way towards their favorite hunting grounds back by the pond. I guess starlings are kind of a messy bird and not native to this area.

I like them. They sit up on the tops of the trees making fake hawk noises and imitating other birds. The larger flocks around here are fun to watch when they fly around together.

Caterpillar06821.md.jpg
Caterpillar in the Grass

I guess the birdhouse was designed for flickers and would be nice for them if filled with wood chips. I like flickers too but the starlings are kind of the underdog around here and nobody cares for them much.

Once they nested inside our kitchen vent and made quite the mess so we put up some better accommodations for them. I felt really bad that the little ones could not make it back out of the vent that season. So far they have never had any trouble getting out of the bird house.

I found this cool spring time caterpillar while cleaning the house. I’m not sure what it will become but it is nice to see a variety of life around the yard. It may be food for the starlings if it is not careful.


Thanks for reading! All photos are my own taken with my Galaxy S7

Sort:  

I like your concept of a journal. At least in the US, starlings do drive out other birds that need nesting boxes. But there is no denying that they are entertaining birds, with lots of antics and energy! Enjoy your little happy rock!

I'm having fun writing down what comes up for me, it is kind of a dairy of my thoughts and experiences on things. Yes, starlings do have some aggressive tendencies. There are so many neat birds out there really with many different types of songs and qualities. I'm enjoying things, thanks!

You're welcome! Journal onward! : )

keep up the good work I can wait to see more,.,.btw can you follow me thank you

Thanks! Followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45