You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have You Ever Had Your Car Break Down on a Road Trip?

in #journal8 years ago

Yes yes I have a car break down on a major highway - tie rod end fell off....?? How does that happen? We had to walk to an overpass to a nearby town to get help - no cell phones back then. The day was humid hot - not a good walking on pavement kind of day. We took the kids into a restaurant.....they drank heartily and one too quickly - and within minutes threw up all the orange drink - all over the floor. We were asked to leave. Um, sorry.....he didn't do it on purpose.
Re Steemit addiction....yes....I have been saying this as well. It's like a magnet - or vortex - it sucks you in.

Sort:  

Ah man! That's terrible! Combining a broken down road trip car with kid throw up is the worst. It's funny how different the memories are now that they are behind us. It's good to look back and think, "Yeah, we got through that okay."

Having a cell phone, uber, rent car places still open... modern technology is nice. My long drive made me laugh thinking about how difficult the early settlers had compared to my "drama."

It's soooo true. Back when it happened it was pretty stressful..plus our finances weren't great - because of having young kids and I was a stay at home mom. But you're right the memories are now funny and warm. And the other thing you said about settlers and how they dealt with drama compared to us - I laughed. That's funny. We don't have 3rd world problems either so whatever happens to us here is pretty small compared to much of what they go through.

Perspective, time, wisdom, age? (eesh) all help.
Thanks for sharing your story. :)

Hah! Yeah. I had fun (even in the moment) laughing about my "first world problems" with the rental car people. I'm very thankful to be in a pretty good financial position after much work and savings. I image many others would be totally stressed by something like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40