You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Do You Handle Pain?

in #journal8 years ago

Luke -- this may be something I write about in the future, but on my way out of the door from the Army, my back started hurting with a little bit of numbness in my left leg. The only job I could find was packing boxes in a warehouse. It got worse. After a week, I went to the VA (which is a nightmare itself) and eventually got some pain meds just to make it through work. I was eventually up to ~12 vicodins per day due to abusing them and just being miserable.

The VA would have continued throwing pills at me or telling me to do physical therapy, which was terrible.

I eventually fought hard enough to get an MRI after dealing with this pain and addiction for seven months to find out I had a moderate-to-severe herniation in my L5-S1. This was causing the numbness in my left leg, and obviously the back pain.

I tried chiropractors. Did nothing, other than spend more money. In speaking with a nurse at a civilian (read: non-VA clinic) to get a steroid shot (which helped for a day or so), she told me about a spinal surgeon in Illinois that developed a special surgery called a microdiscectomy. Basically, they shaved the portion of the disc that was pushing into my nerve bundle to relieve pressure.

Went to sleep in pain... 30m later, woke up and walked out of the hospital with no pain in a few hours.

Microdiscectomies don't work for everyone and require a specific type of herniation, but could be worth a look if the pain continues. I wouldn't wish back pain on anyone. Hell on earth, especially when you mix vicodin and copious amounts of Icehouse beer.

Sort:  

I was eventually up to ~12 vicodins per day due to abusing them and just being miserable.

Wow. That's intense. Sorry you had to go through that, Blake. I have a lot of confidence in the PT I'm working with now, but I think we may have been trying to address to many issues at once and my body's just kind of freaking out about it. I was also starting to get pain down my leg which was the original reason I started doing the PT (all the back issues I've had prior to that never involved the sciatica). I don't think there's a herniation, or if there was, the PT would have picked up on it. Much of what we've been doing has seemed to help quite a bit. Microdiscectomies sounds interesting. If it comes to surgery, it'll definitely be something I keep in mind. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55