You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Do You Handle Pain?

in #journal8 years ago (edited)

First, I'd like to say that I can empathize with your pain. I have a spinal cord injury in my neck (c7) that causes spasticity and pain through approx. 80% of my body, 24/7. Most of the muscles in my back and core have been contracted for over 3 years now and the pain is a constant and agonizing. However, I have found that swimming, or at least floating on my belly with a noodle, gives me the best relief via exercise. The CVAC Pod that I wrote of here https://steemit.com/health/@areynolds/this-thing-gave-me-my-life-back gave me far better pain relief than any drug, even the heaviest opioids!
If you have no structural issues such as pinched nerves, bulging discs, etc, then your best bet is to strengthen the core as a whole and stretch, stretch, stretch!!
Good luck to you and I hope you are soon feeling good as new!
Peace.

Sort:  

Wow, that's intense. I just replied to your post (note: the comma in the paragraph above makes the link not work). I just finished a run/jog and a shower and things are feeling pretty good, though I just tried the sanding desk and the pain came back pretty quickly. I'll get it figured out though. I'm thinking a consistent core workout is the long term solution I need.

Thanks again for sharing your story with us all. You can turn your curse of pain into a gift for everyone else to have a better perspective on their own pain-free lives.

Thank you for telling me about the link! Yes, barring no structural issues, back pain is almost always caused by an imbalance in your core strength. Listen to your body, watch your posture (think of carrying a banana on your head) and pull in your belly button. When you have pain, reflect on the posture you were holding while you were doing whatever caused the pain then be aware and correct it the next time. Many smiles to you, and be well. :)

Yeah, the ab muscle injury I got in college has jacked my core stability for quite some time. I just need to get those muscles to chill out and realize they aren't protecting the surrounding area against an injury anymore. :) Thanks for your words of encouragement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55