My Journal - What I Though About Today

in #journal6 years ago

Today my thoughts were unfocused as always, yet they gravitated to some common themes and themes which I have noticed before. First and foremost, much of my thoughts went to Larry Nassar, the USA Gymnastics rehab sports doctor. He was sentenced to life in prison with a range of 40 - 175 years in prison. Generally judges are supposed to be objective, but the judge in his case certainly was not... which is probably fine considering the number of girls he molested. But I wondered what the people who advocate for a criminal justice system that is more geared toward rehabilitation think about this development. I think in the future we should focus more on rehabilitating criminals and bringing them back into society. Keeping them in jail for crazy amounts of time does no good for them and simply supports the corrupt prison industry.

Next, I had a thought which I have had before, but which I expanded on today. I imagined a world in which aging was a thing of the past and many of the earthly problems that exist today disappeared. In this world I could imagine that colonization would become paramount, however, after the solar system has been colonized, if spacecrafts aren't able to travel much faster than today's ships or even if we do have nuclear ships, would it make sense to only send a couple of massive generational ships a year? Wouldn't it make sense in the far enough future to just bring the entire solar system to the nearest star? This would allow us to make use of all the mass and energy in the solar system, building a superstructure capable of moving the sun closer to Proxima Centauri. Again, this assumes we have the technology to disassemble entire planets. The more mass though, the more force is required to accelerate such a superstructure, which is probably why the structure would be powered by fusion reactors whose fuel would be the Sun itself.

This seemed more practical to me then sending a couple ships, colonizing distant stars, and then never hearing anything from the colonists again considering the distance would mean that transmission ( including internet signals ) would take over 4 years to transmit. And who's to assume that there would be no signal degradation or other issues. This would render the Earth Internet unusable to Proxima Centaurians. This is why we must move the solar system itself. After all mankind is just going to drop everything to travel to Proxima Centauri to live on new planets, what would be the point of leaving our current planets if we are not able to disassemble them yet? They would be left here all alone?

These were my thoughts on this Wednesday:)

Also, I was creeped out by the guy in Europe who killed his patients simply for the "fun" of resuscitating them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66131.28
ETH 3598.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46