Jordan Peterson Series #3 - Clean Up Your Room - Part 2

jordan.jpg

People often binge watch series on Netlfix, and I have done so as well, but lately I have been binge watching youtube clips of Dr. Jordan Peterson. I do that as I enjoy the way he transforms his ideas and theories into words. He's extremely articulate, which makes me understand him easier than others. Jordan Peterson often talks about how much power lies within the ability to write and speak in an articulate way. I recently started a series, which can be found here where I put into words what Jordan is speaking about. I do that to practice my writing skills, as well as my memory. Not to forget my ability to read, think and write. In this short post, I will put my thoughts on a topic that Jordan Peterson talks about a lot; cleaning up your room. I made a post about it that can be found here.

Cleaning up your room

One of the many sentences that come out of Jordan Peterson that provoked something in me is; If you can't keep your room clean, how are you suppose to give advice to the world?. Extremely provocative, but some truth lies within it. I think so at least. Jordan Peterson draws a parallel to the New Testament where there's a line saying something like: Don't worry about your neighbors' house is on fire when yours is as well. Actually, it doesn't say anything like that, but that's the message. I find a lot of truth in this. If we don't even now to sort out own shit out, how are we suppose to know how to sort out others. That's essentially what he means by cleaning up your room. Of course, cleaning up your room seems a bit banal, but it's deeper meaning of the process he might refer to. Jordan looks at the process of cleaning up your room as a way of working on yourself. When you're cleaning up your room, you're basically also cleaning up your psyche. At least that's what he tells us. My room is a mess, but my psyche is not that screwed at the moment, therefore I find this idea to have certain limitations in it. A messy room is not an indicator of how you're life is going, but it can be. My life is going just fine, but my room is a complete mess. I have no arguments that my mind would be more peaceful and I would be more creative, happier with a clean room though.

Before the act of cleaning up your room lies another skill that he speaks about. Before we are able to clean up our room, we have to be able to distinguish between chaos and order. A messy room being chaos. If we're not even able to tell that our room is messy, there's quite a way to go. That would probably present itself in our mind as well. We might not even notice that we are in deep shit, or we simply ignore as it would hurt too much to admit it. So I might actually be in deep shit. Be able to distinguish between chaos and order is the very first step. Next step is to admit it, and do something about it. So when do we know when we have organized yourself enough? Jordan Peterson puts it simply. When you enjoy being in your room is not enough. Your room has to the scene. The scene for you to move forward. It should be a room where you feel inspired and motivated to do things that are good for you. That moves you forward. This being said, I will, hopefully, start cleaning up my room, and notice how it moves me, and what it effects it has.


Image Source: 1


Sort:  

i'm a huge jordan peterson fan as well.
the "clean your room" idea is extremely practical, effective, and powerful.

My brother and I got his self authoring suite.
Can't wait to start.

It's a great deal right now
https://www.selfauthoring.com/self-authoring-suite.html

Yes. I have thought about doing it. Might be in the new year. Let me know when you start. - Arsenal49 owns Anonymousmind, therefore the answer from this profile ;)

Will do :)

He is a great man, his teachings are much needed in the west at this point in time. I am also an admirer of Nietzsche and Jung and he happens to feel the same about these two giants of thoughts which makes his lectures exciting.

Yes. He draws a lot of parallels to Jung. I must be honest and say I have not read any Jung or Nietzsche yet, but I will at some point. I found his modern way of looking at religion really interesting! Was Jung and Nietzsche also using religion in their theories? - Arsenal49 owns Anonymousmind, therefore the answer from this profile ;)

Jung was a psychoanalyst and psychiatrist mainly, he also worked on the psychology of religion. A book written by Jung's student Erich Neumann is pretty interesting "The Origins and History of Consciousness" . Nietzsche was a philosopher, famous for criticizing Christianity. He has a unique outlook on the world, his insights are valuable, make sure you read his works do not read about him as he is very misunderstood. Noted, I will be expecting comments coming from @arsenal49. I am an Arsenal fan by the way :)

Sounds awesome. I will read it if I have the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87