Amusing catchphrases from the social media trashbin - Tuhan bayar cash

in #jokes6 years ago (edited)

Tuhan bayar cash, or God pays in cash in Malay, is a phrase that I have encountered more than a few times now in the forums, but never really found out what it meant. Is it a religious saying? perhaps something political (or politically incorrect)?

Today I finally discovered that the pays in cash part means paying cash on the spot instead of using credit cards and then paying it off at the end of the month. 

The complete phrase means payback, or rather, karma (because it is from God), that was instant or came soon after a wrong has been done, instead of waiting for retribution in the afterlife.

To wit, Tuhan bayar cash / God pays in cash = Instant karma.

eg. The snatch thief grabbed the old lady's purse and ran across the street, only to be ran over by a garbage truck, because Tuhan bayar cash.

Utterly silly but at the same time makes perfect sense.



Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I never heard a phrase like this when I lived in Indonesia. Is this a new phrase or have people been using it for a while.

Thanks for sharing about the Malay culture and language. It is always fun to learn new things.

It's some thing new that came out of nowhere recently, I think it is still a strictly Malaysian thing haha

I haven't come across this saying but it does make sense

I know right? lol

It's a common saying among Malaysians. Regardless of religion. I always hear my neighbors scold "Tuhan bayar cash nanti" to their children if they did some bad deeds.

I really had no idea, at least I never heard ppl actually said it in real life lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62082.09
ETH 2434.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66