My Walk Home Tonight Turned Into An Unbearable Nightmare, But I Was Saved (True Story)

in #joke5 years ago (edited)

I was walking home tonight in front of two girls.

My peaceful thoughts quickly became overrun with their whining about how their boyfriends were unacceptably unresponsive to their texts late at night.


They ran through all of the scenarios of what could be wrong with them... what they thought they could be up to, if they were out drinking too much, if their phones died or broke....

EVERYTHING except for that they might be SLEEPING.



They somehow made it seem like they were being wronged. Each of their paranoid scenarios fueled one ridiculous idea after another, working them up more and more over absolutely nothing in real life.

They were practically yelling. Their voices bellowed down the block.

I started panicking. Shortness of breath.

Listening to chalk on a blackboard while walking on Legos at a Nickelback concert would be less painful, so I walked faster to escape.

Somehow, the voices got louder.

All of the distance I gained in desperation was erased when I reached a red crosswalk light.

I heard their voices approaching, more agitated than ever before, both of them somehow still raging and whining over the same complaints.

Should I run across traffic or go in the wrong direction?

I asked God for the strength.

Several eternities passed.

The crosswalk light finally turned white.

We crossed the street together. It was too much. I knew that I had to lose them here, even if it meant a longer walk in the cold.

To stage my escape, I looked out of the corner of my eye to I make sure they went one way, and I went the other...

It was at this point that I saw them, and the panic turned into sweet relief...

One was a friend's roommate I'd talked to a little bit in the Fall, but I went away and she met someone else that became her boyfriend.


God is good.

@steemmatt

Those may be roosters above, but they're hens pecking for the sake of this post. Conscience cleared.

Sort:  

You got me with the chicken!

So... you truly believe they were sleeping? Could make sense, most men sleep. Lucky you god didn't sleep and heard you

Posted using Partiko Android

Hah, yea God couldn't sleep with all of their whining.

You asked God for strength and thank God he answered your prayer and gave you strength

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54