Using Special Tags For Fun And ProfitsteemCreated with Sketch.

I'm not sure how common it is on SteemIt, but my blog has run into a sort of variety option. I have several different types of content that interest different groups of people. I've considered narrowing the scope of my blog, but ultimately found that there are still several different features that people enjoy from me.

Another option would have been to start different accounts for different content, but ultimately I decided it would be better to just organize everything with tags. Since you can create pretty much any tag you want, I created several unique ones for my fans to bookmark and enjoy!

Currently I use the following:
#horrorclub
#poetrycorner
#indiegamespotlight
#johnyliltoethoughts

You may notice that the last one there includes my name. While the first three are basically just yet-unused public tags, I specifically use my name for the more generic catch-all basically to say "if you like my take on the world, this is specifically my stuff." I welcome entries into the horror club and poetry corner, so I leave my name out of them.

This all works as a second layer of organization beyond just the home feed. For example, if someone really likes my horror stories but doesn't care about my gaming content they can keep their feed clean by bookmarking just #horrorclub while not necessarily following me personally. Since the views matter more than my follower count this is entirely find by me.

Do you guys run into many channels that have too much variety? To other creators out there, do you have any sub-topics you'd consider breaking your blog into? Let me know and consider joining the discussions in the comments!


Thanks for reading! If you found this article helpful, maybe consider donating to these other "scams" that I use:

ETH: 0x2B3B2352760d1fbdC77db9494778457400811a15
BTC: 36UsEUjD3yfsKRpCQBUAh5tBGs1cknx3q2
DASH: XpUHYLH53gbgjjBNYkhyqojfQYsvTov38L
ZEC: t1gHdCQSt7eBEVmv7Ka6F1pT7ewL2Gkrdry

Sort:  

Not yet but I wish I had a more narrow niche. I am trying to post whatever at this point in hopes of maybe finding one along the way. I might consider breaking into a sub-topic for my blog instead. That is a good idea.

There's a few ways to go about it, but I really like the tagging system. I'm not super keen on narrowing what I do with my blog.

That said, I did just learn today that tags only show content newer than 7 days, so it's not a particularly good archiving mechanism. Kind of disappointed in that.

So it won't really work?

Not for the long term. I post enough that it still makes sense to let people look over the past week's content, but I may set up a running anthology post for the old ones. As it stands though, there really is no great way to highlight old content on SteemIt. Once 7 days is past it pretty much only lives in your Blog feed.

I see it has to be creatively done. You have a good idea. Maybe a generic comment you can leave on every new post that has the anthology. Not sure but a longer tag archive maybe included in the steemit update.

I certainly hope so. With the promotion of "your content will be on the blockchain forever" I feel like there should be a better way to showcase old work. That's a good idea though, I may start commenting a link whenever I do get an anthology put together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69