The Coming Job And Identity Crisis In America

in #jobs7 years ago

Something is coming that will change the entire way we live our lives and nobody is really talking about it. There is a real possibility that we are on the verge of a real job crisis in America and for many, it could usher in a period of turmoil, poverty and political upheaval. This isn't a "doomsday piece," let me explain.   

Technology is rapidly encroaching into people’s lives and jobs. While the Internet can offer some incredible opportunity right now, the people who are not interested or invested are going to face a rough future. Why? Most of the jobs we train our kids for and the majority of the jobs that Americans have now are not going to be there in the future. The very near future, like in the next 5-10 years we’ll see the transition.   

Economists believe that about 80% of the loss in manufacturing jobs in the last few decades is due to technological advancements and robots.  As we move towards AI and take larger leaps in robotics, manufacturing jobs could almost vanish in America.   

Taxi companies are on the verge of going under due to ride share apps like Uber and Lyft.   Retail stores are closing around the nation and malls are starting to shut their doors as well.    

There are over 1.7 million people that drive for a living. The people that drive trucks and make deliveries, they could be out of a job soon too. With driverless cars being tested by Alphabet, Uber and the military, it won’t be long until they start taking the jobs of humans.  Amazon is testing drones to deliver packages.  

All of this adds up to one thing, a coming job crisis. Students in schools now are not being taught the skills they will need to find jobs in the very near future. There is going to be a big gap in knowledge and talent. I can see this happening first hand.

My son is eight years old and is finishing 2nd grade on Friday. Three years in school and he hasn’t been taught the right way to type yet. He is learning at home, but not at school. He has learned cursive before typing. In today’s workplace, nobody uses cursive but everyone types.   We are teaching the next generation of students the wrong things. 

Over the next five to ten years as robots and technology make millions of jobs obsolete, what is everyone going to do? Some will learn new skills and figure out how to make money online, but millions won’t. They will either expect checks from the government or try to develop some new skills and get into a new industry. The people that see the changes coming and can learn new skills now will be way ahead of the curve. Many won’t though.   

When millions of people lose their jobs, and realize that all the skills they have developed over a lifetime are now obsolete, they will lose confidence in themselves. So many people derive large parts of their identity from their jobs. When millions of people lose their jobs they will lose their identity. If those jobs are unwanted, then they will feel unwanted. It will be a very challenging time for millions of people.   

The best thing you can do if you think your job might be on the line is to learn some new skills. Really figure out how you can be an asset to a company that won’t go away during this transition. Get some online training or go to YouTube. I can’t even quantify how much I have learned from YouTube. I have literally made tens of thousands of dollars from what I learned by watching free videos. 

You can too.   

 There is a coming job crisis and it will be tough, but if you know it is coming then there is also a lot of opportunity. Be on the side of opportunity and figure out how you are going to transition your skills online.   

Any thoughts or questions please leave a comment!   I would love to hear your input.  This is my first post on Steemit, thanks for the support.

Walking Keys

Sort:  

If THAT is your first post...we'll I'm definitely whelmed.
I've been saying the same thing for a lotta years.
Check out some of my posts @everittdmickey where I discuss in bite sized chunks
many of the same topics you just dumped a bucket full at us.

I AM one of those drivers that WILL lose their jobs real soon now.
Or I was.
I retired.
funny thing.

I'm making more money, a day
on Steemit.
Than I made (a day) driving a truck.

Odd that.

anyone can make money on Steemit.
If you can thinkit...you can Steemit.

that MIGHT be a hint..for the coming identity crisis?
that ...and fishing.

Wow, thanks for the feedback. You couldn't be more right I think too. Congrat on retirement and I think it is awesome that you are making money on Steemit. That is so cool. It goes to show that people can find something they are interested in and make money from home. People can blog, YouTube or even an Instagram model. I don't have the looks to make money by being pretty, but I can use my mind. Congrats on your success. Thank you for taking the time to reply.

no problem
like I've said many times before.
the ONLY jobs that will be available for humans
will require something that ONLY humans can do.
THINK
Automation can NOT do that.
and AI...isn't.

That whole... "I think, therefore I am" thing takes on a deeper meaning doesn't it?

absolutely
either people learn to make money by doing things that machines will never be able to do.
innovative thinking...original thought.
or they better make some investments.
GOLEM comes to mind.
or crypto mining.

Do you do mining? Where if you don't mind me asking?

nope..haven't got that far.
I'm considering it. but not soon.

Good for you. I retired myself from teaching school, because Im afraid some kid might make me lose my retirement funds. So, Im hoping to supplement my income here on steemit. I will join your blog. Thanks for commenting.

nice post. the formal education system should keep up with the changes. I recommend software technology, health care, and skilled trades that will be on high demand. the soft skills will always be needed too.

You are right, healthcare is a huge opportunity and so are skilled trades. Some of those jobs will see large bumps in salary too as they become more competitive. If people don't have the money to learn those skills, they can always find something online like Steemit to be able to generate revenue too. I just fear so many will wait too long before they realize what is happening.
Thank you for your input. I appreciate it.

Brilliant post my friend. Our school systems need a complete overhaul on their teachings and a massive update in technology. The world will soon be just the way the government wants it if things keep going the way they are and everyone will grow up to be their puppets. We as people need to figure out a proper solution to fix this because we all know the government has it just the way they want it at the moment.

Figuring out the education system is one of my life ambitions. I couldn't agree more. I really appreciate you taking the time to read it @royalties. Thank you!

Hey...I like your first post. I resonate well with what you are predicting. I've predicted back in 2010 that public schools will shut down and education will go online by the year 2018. It is slowly going in that direction, but I don't see it fully happening by 2018. So, you ask ...how can that happen? Well, the kids that can follow direction and who want to get an education will learn to be automous in his or her learning. They will take personal responsibility. If not, these kids will be left behind. It's pretty much like that now, but we have laws such as no child left behind to force them to be in school until a certain age. I can see public schools closing to save millions of dollars, but cost thousands of jobs. What a mess we will see in our communities. yes, learning new skills is essential and learning to be proactive too. Thanks for writing this valuable post.

Thank you for reading! I appreciate it. It is a tough situation our country is in and we better find a way to fix it quick.
I think your 2018 is ambitious, but you are right, we are moving in that direction quickly.
I appreciate you taking the time to go back and read my posts. I appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62497.97
ETH 3335.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47